gone crazy: Hendey lathe - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2009, 10:36 PM

Last wiki edit: How to document your project
Last journal entry: 1949 Olds -- Rotisserie, pt. 9
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 2

gone crazy: Hendey lathe

Sometimes "rational" and "tools" just don't go together. I can't claim to need it because I've never used a metal lathe before, but I just acquired a 16 x 8 Hendey lathe. That's 16" swing and 8' bed (about 51" between centers). It appears to have been made around 1925 or so. It kept whining at me to take it home. Lucky I have a really good neighbor with a gooseneck trailer. It took right at $100 in fuel for the round trip and that's all he would accept.

The advice I received here about 3.5 years ago didn't stick, but this lathe is a little smaller, at least. It weighs about 3000 lbs, counting the added on 3 HP electric motor and jack shaft, instead of over 5000 (both of those are guesses).

Came with a steady rest, a 14" 4-jaw chuck (heavy mutha!), an 8" 3-jaw chuck, a 9" faceplate, 3 tool holders, a handful of cutting tools, a 6 RPM 1/4 HP gearmotor somebody cobbled onto the jack shaft (maybe they needed a slower speed than the back gears provide), and about 200 lbs of grime. I'm in the process of tearing it down to clean it up.

It may not help turn me into a hotrodder, but I'll have fun turning some metal into precise chips. Besides, it was a good excuse to wear my HR.com t-shirt.

Attached images:
1. My good neighbor (with the hat) and the seller trying to figure out how to load it without causing me to have a conniption.
2. Nervously chaining over a block on the ways.
3. The monster descends.
4. Brass plate with threading settings.
5. Chucks.
Attached Thumbnails