got a big fish on the line - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Interior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-13-2005, 08:54 AM
Those who wander are not lost

Wiki Edits: 0

got a big fish on the line

Hi all, a little backround first, I am 18 years of age, been sewing for fun since I was nearly 4. as soon as I graduated high school, I opened an upholstery shop. been doing mostly boat tops, good money, but I love car interiors...I have done a few fairly simple ones. but I just went to go price a job for this guy who has a 48 chevy with a 3" chop....very nice looking and driving truck. He has replaced the old seats with a pair of fiero buckets. he wants the two seats done in velour, the door panels, the kick panels, the headliner, and also a cover for the wiring underneath the column. I didn't give him a real definate price, he doesn't want any real fancy design scheme, but there are speaker grates in the headrest through the velour. first of all, what is a fair price for something like this? and how can I get those holes for the speaker grates without having the material fray? btw please nobody tell me to read ron magnus's books, or watch some video.... I have already done that, and thank you all for your anticipated help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-13-2005, 12:20 PM
First name...............Shawn

Last photo:

Use a leather punch to punch the speaker holes in the headrests, do it through the face of the material and LIGHTLY use heat (heat gun or hair dryer) from the backside to singe the loose fibers.