Hot Rod Forum banner

Got a ding on my 34

5K views 30 replies 11 participants last post by  302 Z28 
#1 ·
Coming back from Saturday morning coffee with the others in our club and an oncoming car slung a good sized rock at me. I throught for a moment it was going to come through the windshileld but it hit my four piece hood.:mad:

Trying to decide if I should file a claim with Hagerty or just go ahead and fix it. I am not too good at spot painting and the thought of repainting the left top hood panel is not too appealing.

Vince

See less See more
#2 ·
Sorry to hear that Vince, you gotta hate it when that happens. Is that a ti coat on your car or base clear? It's a fairly dark color so doing a blend and clearing the panel would be not to tough a job, even if it is a tri coat, dark color aren't near as intimidating as light colors.

Ray

#8 ·
Well Vince, you have several things going for you, the fact that it's bc/cc and not a tri color, it's dark and where the chip is. As mentioned, because of where it is and not on a flat panel makes the blend that much easier.

If your at all interested (if Hagerty doesn't bump your rates to bad) and need any help or advice, let me know, I'll help wherever I can.

Yes Bob, I probably could fix it...think it's closer to a 2,000 mile drive though and Hagerty might look down on that big a road trip...LOL.

Ray

#9 ·
I may attempt it anyway. I have some spot painting to do on my door jambs because I am moving my suicide door pins up to where they engage more of the door jamb. Those areas are easy to repaint as I have a very definite break line in the body where I can mask off.

Vince

#13 ·
do you have paint left over? with a little touch up and some skill you maybe able to just hide it . i did a vette my buddy got with like 20 or 30 nicks. i used a paper match end , not the part that lights. Dabbed it on and buffed it out nice and slow. when he picked it up. he found only 3 spots that he could remember .

#25 ·