Grounded - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-23-2003, 10:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 50
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Grounded

With the battery in the trunk, why should you NOT ground to frame and frame to engine?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-24-2003, 04:00 AM
horvath's Avatar
Acoustic Rock ... for real.
 

Last journal entry: About Fusible Links
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Central New Jersey
Age: 63
Posts: 1,982
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I think you SHOULD!

Alan
54 Chevy Pickup
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-24-2003, 05:02 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,812
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 82 Times in 69 Posts
You should, but I would run a ground conductor from the negative side of the battery all the way up to the engine with the positive cable and ground it to the engine. Then ground the engine to the frame and the engine to the body.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2003, 05:57 AM
Member
 

Last journal entry: JB's 37 Pickup
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Smoky Mountains
Age: 75
Posts: 2,358
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I think your question is "why not use the frame as the ground to the engine by running a short ground wire from the battery to the frame in the rear and then another short wire from frame to the engine, saving a long ground cable? The answer is that the steel frame has much more resistance than the wound copper wire in the battery cable. Starting will be unreliable if there is anything other than a fully charged battery to provide maximum amps. There are numerous threads discussing this in previous posts and Ron Francis Wire Works instructions cautions against this in their installation instructions. Another discussion item is using heavier wire from alternator to starter/battery when you start moving the battery more than 2 feet from the alternator. Same theory, sort of. The longer the cables you run, the bigger it must be to carry the current, and we all know you use copper cables/wiiring because of less resistance than steel.

Trees
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2003, 04:32 PM
dollybud's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Trenton, On. Canada
Age: 65
Posts: 182
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking

I agree with 302 and Trees. Make sure you use 1.0 gauge wire from trunk to engine block. Some cars like Camaro's have sub frames which can also become a factor. By grounding strictlly inside the trunk you open yourself up to all kinds of electrical problems. Been there!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2003, 04:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: greener pastures
Posts: 238
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Go to this site http://www.madelectrical.com/ and read what electrical guru Mark Harmon suggests. He also sells the Ford type solonoid kit that will make your 15 foot length of positive battery cable energized on cranking only. That is a safety issue with trunk mounted batteries. He suggests an ignition disconnect switch be mounted in this type of modification. He recommends it to be on the negative cable, but if you plan to race, NHRA requires it to be on the positive cable.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2003, 09:57 PM
4 Jaw Chuck's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 4,822
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 52 Posts
Can you say..."ground loop"!
__________________
Outlawed tunes from outlawed pipes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2003, 09:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 50
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Trees answered my question. I knew you shouldn't use the frame as a ground, but was wondering why. I have a shut off at the engine on the positive, never heard of putting it on the ground wire. Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.