grounding? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2006, 02:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
grounding?

Wheres the best place to ground what you are painting if a water spigate isnt around. a electrical metal conduit that runs into the ground, protecting a plug sockets wires, or would that defeat the purpose?

Anywhere on the building good?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2006, 03:08 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
If you can get to building steel that would do it. Also the ground circuit of a receptacle will work.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2006, 05:40 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 3,578
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 61 Times in 39 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 302/Z28
If you can get to building steel that would do it. Also the ground circuit of a receptacle will work.

Vince
Just the guy I wanted to ask and have been forgetting.

I have a copper rod 8' in the ground with a 4 gage copper coated wire attached and running to a plate inside.
Now the question? from the plate I have grounding alligator clip wire (8 GA) made for industrial static that I run from ground to car. Can you use two and space them on car or does one do all you want.
I no longer have access to a static meter to figure out and I'm no electrician!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2006, 07:37 PM
adtkart@aol.com
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 3,220
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Can someone tell me what the advantage is to grounding a vehicle while paint it? I have never seen a grounding rod in a paint booth before. Maybe I was missing something?

Aaron
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2006, 08:46 PM
Bee4Me's Avatar
Problem Child,Hard Case
 

Last journal entry: Strangest job I've ever done
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ARK.
Age: 57
Posts: 1,773
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Static electricty.
The grounding of the body bleeds off the static charge from,usually,blowing it off with air as well as the air from painting.Low humidity is another factor as well.
The static charge is a TRASH magnet which pulls any piece of flying crap TO the body your trying SO hard to keep it off of. Ever notice how much dust is STUCK to the vacume cleaner,especally the hose?
Barry, I suppose you could use 2 wires but I really figure one is plenty as long as it's to the BODY and not just the frame as the rubber isolators would prevent or slow down the process. Same with the axle,still has rubber grommets in the shackles.I know there are "grounds" to the frame in different forms but directly to the body would be better IMO.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2006, 05:56 AM
jcclark's Avatar
The Penny Pincher
 

Last journal entry: Hanging Bumpers
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Louisville, Ky. U.S.A.
Age: 61
Posts: 1,887
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
You can buy bare braided (flexible) copper wire at Home Depot or any
hardware store. Some people connect it to the ground lead of the battery,
and the other end to the ground of the compressor, or the ground of
an electrical receptacle. The center screw of a receptacle, the one that holds
the cover plate on, is also a ground.
A grounded bare wire on a wetted floor seems like a good idea I guess.
You probably would be better with a ground going to the compressor and
to the receptacle, and connecting to the cars battery and body.
I have tried it all different ways and honestly, I can't tell a difference.
But hey, it couldn't hurt.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2006, 06:53 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryK
Just the guy I wanted to ask and have been forgetting.

I have a copper rod 8' in the ground with a 4 gage copper coated wire attached and running to a plate inside.
Now the question? from the plate I have grounding alligator clip wire (8 GA) made for industrial static that I run from ground to car. Can you use two and space them on car or does one do all you want.
I no longer have access to a static meter to figure out and I'm no electrician!
Barry, as long as the car is electrically the same from front to back all you need is one connection. What I mean by that is that there is no potential difference electrically from front to rear.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2006, 07:06 AM
shine's Avatar
SPI Thug
 

Last journal entry: some progress
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: bluff dale texas
Posts: 2,779
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 256 Times in 202 Posts
i have a short chain with small vicegrips on the end. i just lay it on the floor. i use it in the blasting booth also. believe me the plastic in the blast hose builds a huge charge. the table i use for parts is just about waist high. without the chain it will throw a charge 12 inches. guess where it hits ? with the chain you can tell the difference while tacking.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2006, 07:46 AM
jcclark's Avatar
The Penny Pincher
 

Last journal entry: Hanging Bumpers
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Louisville, Ky. U.S.A.
Age: 61
Posts: 1,887
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
[QUOTE=shine] without the chain it will throw a charge 12 inches.

WOW, I guess we now know why they call you "Shine"
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2006, 07:53 AM
shine's Avatar
SPI Thug
 

Last journal entry: some progress
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: bluff dale texas
Posts: 2,779
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 256 Times in 202 Posts
we're not talking just a little jolt here. first time it dang near knocked me down. hurt like hell too. it will definitely light you up. you can actualy see the charge. neadless to say there's a chain permantly attached to the blast table that drags the ground.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2006, 03:17 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 3,578
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 61 Times in 39 Posts
Thanks Vince.

Shine the only problem with chain is cement is a very poor ground.

Although it will ground as days in plants when everything you touch you get a shock (in winter) we have ground straps you put on your shoe and it does stop the shocks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2006, 03:24 PM
shine's Avatar
SPI Thug
 

Last journal entry: some progress
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: bluff dale texas
Posts: 2,779
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 256 Times in 202 Posts
i wish i had put a bar in the slab when we built but i was in a hurry to get back to work. without the chain it gets real exciting in there. i keep saying i'm going to drill a hole and put a ground bar in but there never seems to be enough time. at least the chain keeps it from zapping me. not too bad with starblast but the plastic is bad news.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2006, 05:33 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 3,578
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 61 Times in 39 Posts
Shine,

Just pound a rod outside the building and get a coated wire and run to a copper strip plate, takes 10 minutes!

I know because every time we put in a new filling machine or pour from a tote in a different place we must have ground.
Some places will have a strip running the whole length of the building suspend from the ceiling so you can ground anywhere, you could do the same thing but those copper strips are expensive when talking a 100-200 feet.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 03-29-2006, 08:16 AM
Beenaway2long's Avatar
or Jeff, or Doc, or...
 

Last journal entry: Results of the Camaro
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Syracuse, NY-well, just North
Age: 51
Posts: 988
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Barry-
1/2" Copper water pipe acts as a grounding strip as well. MUCH cheaper to hang! Tie that into your ground system.

Cars SHOULD have a ground strap from the motor to the firewall, battery to motor,frame AND body, and frame to body. A simple continuity tester will tell you if your ground is good. Where ever you attach your ground, place a lead there, and some where on bare sheetmetal. You get a tone, your good to go.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 03-29-2006, 08:27 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 3,578
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 61 Times in 39 Posts
1/2" Copper water pipe acts as a grounding strip as well. MUCH cheaper to hang! Tie that into your ground system.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I aways wondered about that.

They have classes and books on static grounding for manufacturing and I have never varied from what they say.

When you have 350-550 gallon totes your draining and just the flowing of the solvents can create static it's not something you want to experiment with.

Your right, I bet it would work just as good.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Body - Exterior posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Braided Grounding Strap 58Chev Electrical 9 02-13-2006 07:11 PM
Good Grounding can make a difference ep33510 Electrical 2 12-07-2005 08:42 PM
Battery Cable Grounding to Aluminum Heads?? wickster Electrical 1 04-08-2005 10:52 AM
Volt & Gas guage Grounding out street rodder 1937 Electrical 1 09-01-2003 09:41 AM
Grounding Strips vs Frame horvath Electrical 17 04-17-2003 11:53 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.