Grounding Cans? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2005, 02:17 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Grounding Cans?

I'm a noob so please be gentle

I have a 58 Chevy Apache. I'm having problems with my brake lights and rear park lights.

The parking lights coming on is hit and miss. The passenger rear would light up most of the time, and the driver rear would light up less than the other. Both lighting up is really rare.

So I decided to take the cans out and look at what was goin on in there. Everything was hooked up (I didn't have a voltage tester to check that out tho), except for the ground.

Now the question I have is... the driver's side can has a ground coming out of it, but the passenger's side doesn't. Is that the way it's supposed to be? Also, where do I hook the ground wire up to? I didn't see anywhere to put the ground wire into or onto.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-20-2005, 02:52 PM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: How to rebuild a Rochester Quadrajet 4MV carbureto...
Last journal entry: How to change auto shift timing on 200R4
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 21

Not familiar with the Apache buckets but older cars like that usually had stamped steel or pot metal tail lights as opposed to the plastic thingies they use now. They normally depended on those metal bodies to ground to the metal of the fenders which in turn grounds to the frame. Break this secondary ground circuit anywhere along the line and no lights!