Grounding a gas tank and a fuel gauge question - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-26-2006, 12:46 PM
Z-Money Pit's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 88
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Grounding a gas tank and a fuel gauge question

I have finally completed the body work on my 53 Ford F-100 and have now moved on to wiring it up. I purchased an American Autowire Highway 15 wiring kit that I am waiting for delivery on. I have began creating a "to-do" list and came about two questions:
1) I installed a "Tanks inc." poly fuel tank under the bed of the truck. I remember the installation instructions mentioning the need to ground the gas tank. How would I go about this. Would I use one of the screws on the fuel sending unit and ground it by attaching it to the frame.
2) Somewhat related to the first question I noticed that the fuel sending unit needs to be grounded. Would this be grounded separately near the fuel tank or does the ground wire get run up the fuel gauge on the dash and tied into the ground wire coming out of the gauge?

Thanks for your help. I am sure once my wiring kit arrives I will have several more questions.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-26-2006, 01:15 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
If your sending unit is like mine, it only has one terminal and that is for the wire that goes to your gage. The sending unit is grounded through the flange that you bolt to the tank. That same flange (for the sending unit) also served as the tank ground on a poly tank. If it were mine I would run a separate ground wire from the tank sending unit flange to a known good ground point (not the frame).

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-26-2006, 01:20 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,328
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
The poly tank, because it's not metal, cannot be grounded.
The fuel level sending unit will usually have a control wire connected to the center terminal post. This wire is not connected to chassis ground but will run directly to the guage.
The fuel level sending unit will also have a ground wire connected to the chassis.
The fuel guage will have a 12 volt feed.
Follow the instructions you get with the kit.

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-26-2006, 01:35 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
I might add, that the Tanks instructions for their poly tank are the same for their metal tank. That is where the grounding confusion exists.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-26-2006, 01:36 PM
Arrowhead's Avatar
EFI Rules and Carbs Drool
 
Last wiki edit: The FREE T Bucket plans
Last journal entry: Sold Everything for a new project
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stillwater, NY
Age: 49
Posts: 913
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
I think your question got answered, but just want to butt in and say your truck is awsome. Looks how it would if it built one - wheels, motor, color, style, etc.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-26-2006, 01:40 PM
Z-Money Pit's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 88
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the quick replies. The fuel sending unit that I have has two "prongs" on top. One is marked "ground" and the other is wired to the fuel gauge in the dash. Do I link the ground from the fuel sender on the tank to the ground on the gauge, or use two separate grounds, one for each? Sorry for the confusion.

As per the responses, am I correct in assuming that the tank is o.k. as is and does not need to be grounded?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-26-2006, 01:45 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: texas, earth
Posts: 420
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
run a ground to prevent the buildup of static electricity in the tank, run a ground wire, from one of the screws that holds the sending unit into the tank to a good ground.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-26-2006, 05:04 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

DO NOT tie both to ground!

The terminal marked "Ground" must go to a properly Bonded Ground buss , or Grounding area.

The Terminal marked "Gauge" albeit, REFERENCED to Ground..Is Not..It is the float position reporting signal from the tank..

Think of your system as a Volume Control on a Radio..The Gauge is the "Audio Sound" the Float is the "Volume Control Resistor" and ground is "Sound off",... no or high resistance to ground is "Full Volume"...

The gauge wire runs through a "movable float and resistor to reference a ground Back to the gauge to complete the circuit.

A poly tank can't really be grounded..you can go to anti static blankets and hardware , but that's about the extent of it.

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-26-2006, 07:44 PM
68NovaSS's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Working with chromed bolts
Last journal entry: New to me T-Bucket
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nine Mile Falls, Washington
Posts: 5,223
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 102
Thanked 131 Times in 122 Posts
Some gauges and harnesses may be different, but here's the instruction sheet from AutoMeter for reference.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Instructions_2.pdf (291.5 KB, 222 views)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-26-2006, 08:31 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Dang, whoda thought hooking up a fuel gage was such a chore .

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 06-26-2006, 09:53 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

Yup..kinda hard when you got a plastic tank though..

This is the way Traditionally , the system works..If the gauge reports backward swap the hard ground from the sender with the signal line from the sender..that SHOULD get it going the right way..(provided you have no other ground to the sender)



Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.