Grounding my audio amp - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2004, 02:50 PM
eM-K's Avatar
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: dublin,NH
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Grounding my audio amp

I am trying to ground my 400 watt audio amp.. is it possible to ground it to a screw in the seat mounting... it isnt working for me.. do i have to ground it into the frame for it to work? or is it something with my amp? Im new at this so i dont really understand the object of grounding.. i need help!!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2004, 03:16 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
ground

[size=3]Doc here

At 400 watts, I'd run a battery cable ground from the battery to the mount system you have provided for your AMP.

This will provide a good bonded ground to the whole area your amp is located...If you don't want to go that large on the cable, you can get "Monster" wire at the local stereo shop...

WHEN routing your wires, KEEP power, ground and audio wires separate. Else it will sound like crap. separate the audio from power at least 6 inches or more if you can.

On an amp that large, I would use a RELAY for power, even though you may be using the power antenna or remote amp from the player...and don't forget a proper fuse!

Just wire the power antenna To fire the coil on the relay, and the relay contacts will be power from the battery fuse going to the NO (normally open) contact, and the Amp power input will be the (CW) center wiper.

Doc
[/size]
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-19-2004, 02:56 PM
johnnymopar's Avatar
Love your nails! You must be a Libra
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Stratford, ON, Canada
Posts: 599
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i wouldn't worry about a relay for your power. most amps are made to be wired directly to the battery. i would put an inline fuse in front of the amp though. i don't think you'd absolutely have to run a separate ground back to the amp. you could ground to the frame which should be okay.

JB
__________________
"Well done is better than well said." - Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-19-2004, 09:45 PM
sbchevfreak's Avatar
Licenced Automotive Technician
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Land of big Easter eggs, Alberta
Age: 34
Posts: 1,604
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
I'm with Doc. Having owned and installed both "small" stereo's, to high powered competition units, I would advise running a ground cable to your battery. For a 400 watt unit, you want at least an 8 guage cable for both the power and ground sides of your circut. If you do not runa a cable, the amp will work, however under high draw conditions (VFL music) the amp will "cut out" and you will lose sound for a second, kinda like a cd skip. This will happen especially if the amp is bridged into the higher power output feature (very hard on not only the amp, but the coils in your subs). Using a relay is not critical, unless you have more than one amp running, i.e: amp for subwoofers, and a seperate amp for midrange, high, and fill speakers. If you are running several amps, the draw on the "remote" circut in your head unit may fry the internal circutry. In this case, do as Doc recommended.

For a clean install, with good sound, I like to run the speaker outputs on the opposite side of the vehical as the power/ground cables. This helps keep any RFI from the high draw power circut from interfering with the signal to the speaker. This is a bit more work than just grounding to the body, but ensures that the sound quality will only be affected by the quality of the recording, and the quality of the stereo equipment (also allows for future expansion, especially if you use 1 or 2 guages larger than needed for your power/ground cables, so you can upgrade to larger amps!). Have fun, and try not to make your ears bleed!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-19-2004, 11:52 PM
flubyu's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Idaho
Age: 40
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sorry but I think your putting the bull before the horns on this. He is saying that the amp isn't working and he is assuming it's a grounding problem, which it very weel could be but what about his power feed and where is this coming from? Is the remote wire ran correctly to the stereo? and yes is the ground sufficiant? Make life easy for yourself, if you question the ground simply run a length of wire directly from the battery, does that solve teh problem? if so then before you start dropping a second line from your battery look for a better grounding point closer to the amp, also for ground wires you want them as short as possible and my rule of thumb is nothing longer than 14"
Also 1 more thing to consider here is the quality of the amp? Many amps vary in quaity of parts.
Anyway dont mean to carry on but start simple then work your way around and please please make sure you have an inline fuse very close to your battery for this, wire fires are not fun. Trust me...lol Good Luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.