Harmonic balancer question - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2006, 06:13 AM
tornado-tech's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kansas
Age: 47
Posts: 320
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Harmonic balancer question

Was setting timing on my 408 and when I set it last year, it had 18 degrees initial. When I checked it 2 nights ago, it showed 32 degrees initial. If i put it back to 18 degrees initial, it barely runs. I tried another timing light last night and it showed the same thing. I think my harmonic balancer hub slipped. The question I got if I go with a different balancer that is SFI approved, would I need to rebalance the motor since it is internally balanced and was balanced with the flexplate and balancer? The balancer now on the motor is a Pioneer 8" balancer

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2006, 07:01 AM
Infomaniac's Avatar
Twin Turbo Drag Boat
 

Last journal entry: Random In Progress Shots
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Locust Grove, OK
Age: 52
Posts: 372
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sounds like it sllipped.

You should not need to rebalance if you use the same size balancer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2006, 11:19 AM
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: PICTURE TEST
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: york pa
Age: 52
Posts: 2,795
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
balancer

striaght up swap no need to re-balance...

Make sure you check the bore size in the new balancer, many times they are undersize....

Keith
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2006, 01:34 PM
Oldphart's Avatar
Are we there yet?
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: So Cal.
Age: 58
Posts: 27
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'd use a piston stop (very carefully) to find the true TDC and see if the mark lines up before I spent the money for a balancer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2006, 01:57 PM
MI2600's Avatar
Member# 3287
 

Last journal entry: Vortec Heads
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Muskegon, MI
Posts: 2,632
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
When you checked the timing this year, was the vacuum advance disconnected?

I actually know someone who did that very stupid thing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2006, 06:27 PM
tornado-tech's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kansas
Age: 47
Posts: 320
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes the vacuum advance was disconnected. I just did the piston stop check and the marks were off 14 degrees also. What if I went to 6.625" SFI balancer to replace the 8" non SFI balancer? Would that need to be rebalanced if the 6.625" balancer weighed 10.37 lbs while the existing 8" weighs 10.4 lbs?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2006, 09:00 PM
xntrik's Avatar
Save a horse, Ride a Cowboy.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 5,131
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by tornado-tech
Yes the vacuum advance was disconnected. I just did the piston stop check and the marks were off 14 degrees also. What if I went to 6.625" SFI balancer to replace the 8" non SFI balancer? Would that need to be rebalanced if the 6.625" balancer weighed 10.37 lbs while the existing 8" weighs 10.4 lbs?
Overall weight has nothing to do with balance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2006, 11:12 PM
Rob Keller's Avatar
AKA:"SLOWRIDE66"take it easy!
 
Last wiki edit: How to post pictures on a forum
Last journal entry: 85 Suburban
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Central Florida U.S.A.
Age: 48
Posts: 4,297
Wiki Edits: 38

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Balancers slip more often than most think

make sure you use the proper tools for removal & installation beating it on with BFH is not proper installation


Rob
__________________
"SlowRide66"

"Illegitimis non carborundum"
Don't let the bastards grind you down!

Crankshaft Coalition Master List of Hotrodding Forums
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2006, 05:22 PM
tornado-tech's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kansas
Age: 47
Posts: 320
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The balancer did slip as I just finished putting on a TCI Rattler 7 1/4" balancer with a Summit timing pointer. The timing was right at 18 degrees inital as it was the when I set it last year. As far as aftermarket balancers and heating them to let them expand so they will slide on easily will void the manufacturers warranty (at least TCI's it will). It easily went on with a Moroso balancer installer and did not require a hone job due to tighter tolerances. Definitely one of the easiest balancer installs ever done.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2006, 05:49 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 201
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
older model harmonic balancers have different timing mark on them
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2006, 06:20 PM
Infomaniac's Avatar
Twin Turbo Drag Boat
 

Last journal entry: Random In Progress Shots
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Locust Grove, OK
Age: 52
Posts: 372
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I do put them in an oven at 200 degrees. The engine gets 200 degrees so it should not harm the balancer.

A lot of them need honed to proper interference fit. The ATI superdampers that I use all need honed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2006, 07:35 PM
SecGenLvr's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tucson
Age: 28
Posts: 80
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I agree...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldphart
I'd use a piston stop (very carefully) to find the true TDC and see if the mark lines up before I spent the money for a balancer.
This is probably a good idea, fixing a possible problem, may lead to more work and no fix...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2006, 08:00 PM
Rob Keller's Avatar
AKA:"SLOWRIDE66"take it easy!
 
Last wiki edit: How to post pictures on a forum
Last journal entry: 85 Suburban
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Central Florida U.S.A.
Age: 48
Posts: 4,297
Wiki Edits: 38

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I use a bolt grip puller to remove it.

I use a Harmonic balancer installer to install

the only one I know of that Does Not requires I installer is a old PONTIAC'S 350 ,400,455


R
__________________
"SlowRide66"

"Illegitimis non carborundum"
Don't let the bastards grind you down!

Crankshaft Coalition Master List of Hotrodding Forums
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bad harmonic balancer? smlblcks10 Engine 5 01-31-2005 11:21 PM
Harmonic Balancer Failure Vista Cruiser Engine 10 11-23-2004 03:04 PM
what size harmonic balancer? onecoomofo Engine 14 02-28-2004 10:34 AM
283/327 harmonic balancer /damper Question 59vette Engine 5 11-16-2003 11:42 PM
Crank Pulley / Harmonic Balancer surfrat6 Engine 2 09-01-2003 05:33 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.