Harmonic Balancing - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-10-2002, 08:16 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 99
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Harmonic Balancing

My new engine is almost done, i put a 307 crank into a 350 block and i went to the part store and tryed to get a new balancer for my new motor, i have no idea what to get, it seems the 71 307 & 350 used one type of balancer, the 72ish to 76 350's used another type,and 77 on up used yet another type, i have no idea which to use, one for a 71 307, one for a 77 350....i have no idea
i taked to a guy at the machine shop and he said i can use any of them, that they all have the same mounting set up, anyone have and advice on this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-10-2002, 09:35 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: charleston , sc
Posts: 18
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

use the one for the correct year of the crank(71?)
after all , its the harmonics from the crank that you are trying to balance out
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-10-2002, 09:57 AM
BOBCRMAN@aol.com's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Holly, michigan
Posts: 7,951
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 218 Times in 207 Posts
Post

all small block chevy 350 and down use a neutral balance balancer, any will work, you can buy an adjustable timing pointer just match it to the diameter. find tdc and mark the balancer, use this for base mark.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-10-2002, 01:40 PM
slider in wa's Avatar
Slider in Wa.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Benton City Wa.99320
Age: 63
Posts: 700
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Please tell me why you put the 307 crank into the 350? I reallly don`t know. And i need to know !!!
Thanks!
Slider in Wa.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-10-2002, 08:11 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Waco, TX
Posts: 19
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

If I'm not mistaken if you put a 307 Crank into a 350 block you'll get a 327. A 307 stroke is the same as a 327 and a 327 has the same bore as a 350. So explain to me why you destroke a 350 to a 327. My suggestion on destrokin is if your goin to do it the motor better end up a 302, but I'm also the owner of a 67' Camaro which in 67' the Z/28s came with a ........ 302.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-10-2002, 08:24 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 99
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

The reason i did it is quiet simple, its a good engine, it was the enigine of my fathers camaro which i fell in love with, thus, a cheap way to get a 327 is just to understroke a 350, you kinda answered your own question with your question
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-10-2002, 08:30 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Waco, TX
Posts: 19
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

I know I just never saw the point in it that's all. My father has always drilled into me about gettin the most power out of an engine but to keep it streetable.
<img src="graemlins/evil.gif" border="0" alt="[evil]" /> Are you goin use this more for the street?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2002, 04:02 AM
slider in wa's Avatar
Slider in Wa.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Benton City Wa.99320
Age: 63
Posts: 700
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

I`m the guy that asked you why. I kinda thiought that was what you were doing but could not remmember what it gave you in the end. Thank you for refreshing my memory, and for the answer to my question.
Slider in Wa.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2002, 10:15 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 99
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

I just returned from the part store, both Balancers they have in stock are the same price, only diffrance i saw between the 2 was one was kinda thin where as the other had a lip which made it look bigger, with a 327 gear more for low end power what what be my best choice there, thick or thin?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2002, 03:26 PM
BOBCRMAN@aol.com's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Holly, michigan
Posts: 7,951
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 218 Times in 207 Posts
Post

on the street use the largest balancer you can, check it for sure but the wide one will have the timing mark in a different spot than the narrow one and you will need the timing tab for that balancer.You did use 327 pistons in this motor didn't you??

[ November 11, 2002: Message edited by: BOBCRMAN@aol.com ]</p>
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2002, 04:18 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 99
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

common now gimmy abit more credit than that, yes i used 327 pistons =)

why do i need the largest i can for the street?

and im not sure if my timing tab is going to line up or not, i was going to fabricate a adjustment, hope it stays there in some construded way of puting one there if need be, and if all else fails i was showed a way of timing by vac pressure
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2002, 04:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: OK.
Posts: 88
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking

I used a TDC finder to get exact TDC, then I bought a timing tape from Mr. Gasket and put it on the balencer, ignoring the factory mark that wasn't in the right place. Plus it looks cool.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.