has any one used pvs pipes for air supply - Page 5 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #61 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2011, 01:21 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,913
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Shine probably knows more about media blasting than anyone here and is a pro using pro quality equipment I am sure. Like I said I don't know how his air supply is set-up but likely it is one the largest (if not the largest) systems that any of us here have and I am certain it works properly, I never intended to question that.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #62 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2011, 01:30 PM
NEW INTERIORS's Avatar
Believe in yourself !!!!!!
 

Last journal entry: 41 WILLYS FRAME
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In My Shop..
Age: 49
Posts: 10,300
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1,442
Thanked 691 Times in 508 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MARTINSR
Actually the first water trap (or outlet) should be at 25' from compressor. At that point the air should be cooled off enough for the water droplets to be large enough for the water trap to trap it.

Brian
Well Mine leave's the tank... The line from the tank run about 10' on about a 45* angle with one trap at the bottom of this 45* angle....It then run's through out my shop....(about 60') With a drop down with a trap there.. And my outlet is above that point..... I really only get a little water at the first point. And I mean a little at the first 45* trap.... The other trap that I hook my air line before the trap, Doesn't ever have water there... I have a Belair elite air compressor,7.5 hp with the auto air bleeder built in it.. I really don't have any problems with water... Not much at all anyway... But did look into the new lines I posted.... Only because of safety reasons... (Not for me) Because my Son use's it... And he's not as safe as I am...

It stay's very hot down south, 100+ here all the time..

Chevymon...I'm not convinced at all.. This would fall under starting something...Don't start !!!!

Last edited by NEW INTERIORS; 08-31-2011 at 01:39 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #63 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2011, 01:41 PM
shine's Avatar
SPI Thug
 

Last journal entry: some progress
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: bluff dale texas
Posts: 2,780
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 256 Times in 202 Posts
my blasting rig is completely separate. it is a diesel powered compressor . has 2 moisture traps.
the reason for moving the compressor is because i am tired of hearing it. by moving it up the hill i can plumb underground to the shop using the earth temp to cool the air before it enters the shop. this will be pvc . my booth is about 100 ft of air line from the compressor right now. have a good trap in the booth followed by a toilet paper filter. no water problems except for days where any air movement will create moisture period. if the shop floor is wet from the air forget it. do something else.


i've know hub aka dr.gun for a long time .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #64 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2011, 01:55 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: motorcity
Posts: 244
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 23 Times in 20 Posts
My opologies, sounds like everybody has dry air. I noticed a little moisture in my lines a couple weeks ago, so I upgraded to the three stage dryer from Sharp. I never used the shop so much in the summer until the last couple of years. So now I have 100% dry air.
I saw a Porchdog post for Hub back in o4or o5, but sometimes we forget how helpful old friends can be.
Hope I didn't offend anyone, I just want everybody to be safe, and work to the best of their ability. And I have enjoyed and learned a lot from both you guys.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #65 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2011, 02:04 PM
NEW INTERIORS's Avatar
Believe in yourself !!!!!!
 

Last journal entry: 41 WILLYS FRAME
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In My Shop..
Age: 49
Posts: 10,300
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1,442
Thanked 691 Times in 508 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevymon
My opologies, sounds like everybody has dry air. I noticed a little moisture in my lines a couple weeks ago, so I upgraded to the three stage dryer from Sharp. I never used the shop so much in the summer until the last couple of years. So now I have 100% dry air.
I saw a Porchdog post for Hub back in o4or o5, but sometimes we forget how helpful old friends can be.
Hope I didn't offend anyone, I just want everybody to be safe, and work to the best of their ability. And I have enjoyed and learned a lot from both you guys.

We are OK.... I wouldn't say I have 100% dry air,, But it isn't really to bad being as hot as it is here.... I just finished shooting the frame for the train I'm doing... IT'S HOT !!!!

It make make a big difference that my new compressor isn't a year old yet.... I don't think it is anyway..

And I do know what you and oldred was trying to prove here.... ''Safety''
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #66 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2011, 06:09 PM
Member
 

Last journal entry: JB's 37 Pickup
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Smoky Mountains
Age: 76
Posts: 2,358
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Shine, you asked why I run 175 PSI and I only have one lame answer: That is what the pressure regulator is set at. The 80 Gal tank and and 120 feet of delivery line that is all inside the walls and 2 100 ft hose reels provide a pretty good reservoir of air. My sand blaster is a el cheapo pressure feed unit that hold 100#s of sand. I set the regulator at the hose reel at 100 psi and the compressor cycles through out the blasting period. I have not had a moistur problem blasting since I have 4 5 foot drops with drains, a moisture separator and a toilet paper filter before the hose reel. I have never gotten water from the last two drops and very little from the moisture seperator which is between #2 and #3 drops. All my air tools are set for 90 PSI and the plasma cutter is usually around 70 plus or minus 5 pounds operating pressure. I have a couple of 20 ton air jacks and I turn them up to 120 on occasion. I use 110PSI on the air jack on my lift (operating manual suggestion). So you can see I don't need the 175 PSI. I would like your and oldred's inputs on the merits of turning it down ie energy savings, less wear on pump etc.

Trees
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #67 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2011, 08:17 PM
put up or shut up
 

Last journal entry: saying goodbye to the beast
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Antelope, Ca
Posts: 2,198
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 646
Thanked 268 Times in 244 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by shine
sch40 jet stream in every shop since 78 and here at the farm for 13 years. i have never had a failure nor have i seen one.
I haven't either but imagine old pvc under pressure wouldn't take much to explode like from a wrench dropping on it or something.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #68 (permalink)  
Old 09-02-2011, 06:14 AM
shine's Avatar
SPI Thug
 

Last journal entry: some progress
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: bluff dale texas
Posts: 2,780
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 256 Times in 202 Posts
sch 80 pvc is pretty tuff. i have had sch40 in the shop for 13 years. when i move the compressor in the fall i will replumb the shop. from compressor to the shop will be pvc underground. have not decided on what will go in the shop yet. pvc / pet /copper will be the choices. abs for air is higher than copper.
my compressor will still be set at 80 lbs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #69 (permalink)  
Old 09-02-2011, 06:36 AM
da34guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bumfork, OK
Posts: 497
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 29
Thanked 41 Times in 38 Posts
Shine, When ya do it go copper inside.
In my new shop, ran copper 3/4 (almost 300 linear ft) with all fittings for less than $250.
Just my 2 pennys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #70 (permalink)  
Old 09-02-2011, 06:41 AM
shine's Avatar
SPI Thug
 

Last journal entry: some progress
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: bluff dale texas
Posts: 2,780
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 256 Times in 202 Posts
will likely be copper or pet . sch80 pvc is some pretty tuff stuff.like i said it has been in every shop since 78. i just want that loud aggravating compressor up the hill in it's own little building. tired of hearing it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #71 (permalink)  
Old 09-02-2011, 07:51 AM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 57
Posts: 5,362
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 9
Thanked 145 Times in 128 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevymon
No, I haven't used it, but my common sense tells me that it won't cool like metal.
Iron pipe is the safest and is required for commercial or industrial here. I have a good friend who installs compressors for a living, he has customers who run PVC but does not recommend it. He installs huge systems, to watch him do pipe is amazing. he can put iron together as fast as most people can do copper.
__________________
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity



Chet

Last edited by T-bucket23; 09-02-2011 at 08:01 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #72 (permalink)  
Old 09-02-2011, 08:07 AM
shine's Avatar
SPI Thug
 

Last journal entry: some progress
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: bluff dale texas
Posts: 2,780
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 256 Times in 202 Posts
if not pvc then copper but there will be no iron pipe in my shop. it rusts then holds moisture and oil vapors which end up in the booth.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #73 (permalink)  
Old 09-02-2011, 08:08 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 9
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
NO
I did not use for pvs pipes for air supply
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
air supply MIKE1954 Introduce Yourself 3 12-23-2005 07:19 PM
Hvlp Air Supply Kampr Body - Exterior 11 09-16-2005 11:47 AM
air supply settings handyman Body - Exterior 11 09-10-2004 12:22 AM
Fresh Air Supply Dasoldier Body - Exterior 8 03-23-2004 10:52 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.