HEI distributor 12 volts source - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2013, 12:02 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,428
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 29
Thanked 41 Times in 38 Posts
HEI distributor 12 volts source

Hello guys I have a quick question. My 96 s10 has a old style 350 in it with a old style hei distributor and when I bought the truck instead of them just unplugging things to the old motor they hacked all the wires off except a few and I have ran in the problem over the years of the little wires that are left I have used for my 12 volt source for my distributor but they have become brittle and have broken. Getting ready to take engine out and I am wanting to run a good gauge straight 12 volt source from my battery to a toggle switch in my dash to cut off power when turning off the engine. Only question I have is should I have to use a inline fuse or not and if so what would be a right size. I don't want the risk of something catching fire with out a safety barrier. Thanks guys.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2013, 07:19 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,331
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 57 Times in 53 Posts
fuse block

The feed wire to the toggle switch (ignition switch) could come from the fuse block. This can also feed the start button.
20 amp fuse #14 wire.
HEI dist. wants full 12 volts to work properly, no resistors.

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2013, 09:35 PM
sedanbob's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St. Louis
Age: 65
Posts: 626
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 61
Thanked 80 Times in 77 Posts
The feed to the HEI in my Haywire wiring harness is on a 30 amp fused circuit with 12ga wire.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2013, 09:14 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
The understood fusing for AWG wire sizes is 15amp for 14 AWG, 20amp for 12 AWG, 30amp for 10 AWG.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2013, 10:23 AM
sedanbob's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St. Louis
Age: 65
Posts: 626
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 61
Thanked 80 Times in 77 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 302 Z28 View Post
The understood fusing for AWG wire sizes is 15amp for 14 AWG, 20amp for 12 AWG, 30amp for 10 AWG.

Vince
I think those are the figures for 120 volts - wouldn't they be different for 12 volt?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2013, 10:28 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sedanbob View Post
I think those are the figures for 120 volts - wouldn't they be different for 12 volt?
Added in safety margin. That is what I use when I wired my car never hurts to over design a bit.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2013, 10:33 AM
sedanbob's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St. Louis
Age: 65
Posts: 626
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 61
Thanked 80 Times in 77 Posts
Here is a chart of wire gauge and amperages - length of the wire also factors in. Wire Gauge Amps Ratings for 12 volt Automotive Systems
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2013, 02:33 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,428
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 29
Thanked 41 Times in 38 Posts
Hello guys thanks for the help. I would run of fuse box but am already running two different items off of it already and cant fit any more add a line fuse wires or I would have done already. Going to run wire from battery to switch and anyways will kind of give me a security feature I will install an inline fuse as well so I should be good.Thanks again.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you remove the distributor gear on an HEI distributor? against all odds Hotrodding Basics 4 01-31-2012 09:58 PM
Need new 12v source for HEI sbc distributor eric32 Electrical 6 08-18-2011 05:58 PM
Source for new/rebuilt HEI Distributor Mainshaft acr Electrical 1 06-26-2005 09:20 PM
Source for mainshaft for Chevy HEI Distributor acr Engine 2 06-26-2005 08:33 AM
why do i have 20+ volts to my HEI firechicken383 Electrical 5 07-18-2004 01:08 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.