help with a 383 stroker - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-22-2012, 02:04 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

help with a 383 stroker

hi there im pretty new to this so help me out here. im looking into making a 383 out of a 5.7 vortex engine so i could use there good heads becuase i cant afford to buy new heads at the time i have a budget of about 1000-1500$ maybe 2000 and im looking to get 400hp or more if possible any ideas of what kind of cam, intake and carb i should go with i kinda want to do the whole tunnel ram with 2 450cfm or maybe 600cfm because i dont want to over carb my engine and just waste fuel.. and im not worried about mpg at all but i want to try and keep pump gas. i know i have to use a 400 crank but what else do i need to upgrade or swap out to make the stroker and what degree should i have it bored out .60?

kyle.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-22-2012, 05:14 PM

Last photo:

30 over block with 3.75 stroke crank {400} crank for some will give you the 383 setup, you will need to have some clearencing done to the block to clear crankshaft counter weights and rod cap bolts..
Read this artical on 383/388 sbc strokers, will defantly give you some good info.. http://www.crankshaftcoalition.com/w..._Chevy_stroker
Old 04-22-2012, 06:36 PM

Last photo:

a 30 over 350 block... needed to clairify
Old 04-22-2012, 08:46 PM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: Working with chromed bolts
Last journal entry: New to me T-Bucket
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 9

If you plan to use an OEM 400 crank instead of an aftermarket piece, you need to have the mains machined. Look for a 383 rotating assembly/kit, much easier for a beginner.