Hot Rod Forum banner

Help Identifying Engine Block

3K views 17 replies 7 participants last post by  Crafftyyy 
#1 ·
Hey guys new here.
I have been looking and dreaming of American Muscle since I was 6 (now 23).
I finally bit the bullet and brought home a 73 Nova Custom Today. The owner was unsure of the engine and It seems to have been replaced.

I am completely new to restoring and fixing cars. Curious if it is the 350 2brl its came with or if it might be a 305, 307 that has been swapped in.

It is a 2brl carb for sure Im just not sure how to tell.

Here are the 2 numbers I have found

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
I can't tell from the pictures so I will ask. Where did you find these numbers? It looks like maybe behind the alternator but not sure. You need to look on the rear of the block, near the distributor for the casting number. Post those numbers when you find them.

#6 ·
The casting number will only tell so much. If it's been bored or stroked, the casting number won't tell you that anyway. By looking at the motor, you can't tell what size it is. All early SBC motors look identical on the outside. The only difference is the bore size.

#8 ·
Numbers you posted conflict with each other, the one starting with "15" indicates a 1975 application....the V0I20CMJ indicates "V"(Flint, Mi engine) "0I20"(Jan 20th") "CMJ" is either 1974 350 4-barrel or 1980 305 2-barrel....so we have 1974, 1975, and 1980 in the mix.....But car is a 1973.

Need that block casting number off the back to pin down exactly what it is. In cases of conflicting stamped codes, the casting number trumps those codes. Get in there with a mirror and a good light and see what you can find out. Hopefully it isn't a swapped in 305 :(

#10 ·