help on installing two horns - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-17-2008, 10:46 PM
vanislander's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 38
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
help on installing two horns

My first question as a new member!!!! I just bought two new sparton horns for my 34 2dr sedan and I was wondering about how I should hook these up? There are two connections under the chrome caps and I was wondering if it matters which goes to ground, also do I need two horn relays or can I run both horns off one. What kind of draw do these horns have and what gauge of wire is recommended ? The horns on my 34 now are from a newer car of some kind and I was hoping I could just lengthen the wire out to the new spartons. These horns are expensive so I don't want to screw anything up, I always like getting an experts advise!!
Thanks.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-17-2008, 11:02 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Did you not get any information with the horns? I can't imagine them using that much current.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-18-2008, 12:02 AM
vanislander's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 38
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No there were no instructions with the horns.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-18-2008, 09:19 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Normally a horn (single) is run from a relay. To play it safe without knowing how much current those horns use I would use two relays, one for each horn.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2008, 09:21 AM
Jmark's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: phoenix
Age: 61
Posts: 4,900
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 42 Times in 31 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 302 Z28
Normally a horn (single) is run from a relay. To play it safe without knowing how much current those horns use I would use two relays, one for each horn.

Vince
Relays are for sissy's!!! Just wire them direct to a big red button glued to the dash and call it good!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2008, 10:55 AM
F&J F&J is offline
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 32 Ford cabriolet conversion/windshield
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Connecticut
Age: 62
Posts: 1,571
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Those Spartons are actually motors, so they do draw some amps. I'd use a good quality horn relay...or 2
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2008, 02:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Lone Star State (Houston area)
Posts: 1,189
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I bet those cost a pretty penny these days. They were $65 each when they were introduced to the market years ago and we still sold quite a few.
There is a crossover harness available for the horn to horn connection.
On an original Ford no relay was used. The hot went to the horns and the norn button in the light switch rod grounded them to honk 'em.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2008, 05:10 AM
GMCTRUCKS's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Texas, Coast
Age: 54
Posts: 327
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
horn

Quote:
Originally Posted by 302 Z28
Normally a horn (single) is run from a relay. To play it safe without knowing how much current those horns use I would use two relays, one for each horn.

Vince
Instead using regular relays use Ford solenoids that were used on older cars/trucks but remember to place close to battery so that you will have a lot of volts. I have two horns from a 57 Ford F100 pickup all i need to do is install boy are they loud. Oh these horns look like a trumpet and even have a good mounting bracket.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2008, 01:01 AM
vanislander's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 38
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for all the tips, I will install these horns with relays to be safe, they are quite expensive these days,around $130, I looked forever on ebay and couldn't find any so I decided to bite the bullet and buy new.
Thanks again for the help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I wire up my horns? cpthowdy Electrical 6 07-13-2008 11:11 PM
Installing New Cam fisrtet1963 Introduce Yourself 3 04-14-2006 08:48 PM
Installing Dipstick Tube Sly's 53 Suburban Engine 7 01-30-2005 01:37 PM
Help installing hei distributor iroc_Camaro388 Engine 3 01-30-2004 01:05 AM
Installing a 350sbc in the rear of an s-10 vegadeth Engine 1 07-14-2002 04:18 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.