Help me evaluate my paintjob - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2011, 08:20 PM

Last journal entry: Some finished pictures
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Help me evaluate my paintjob

Greetings,

I am no expert regarding paint so I need help before making an uniformed complaint. I had paint and bodywork done on my 72 Camaro and have paint chipping/flaking off. I would like to approach this delicately to maintain a good relationship with the shop.

I have attached the some pictures of what I'm experiencing and would like to know what could have caused this. This was not an economy job and paid good money and believe they use good Dupont supplies.

This is the area where the Urethane RS nose connects to the valance.

This is a flaked off spot near hood.

Rocker area

Advertisement
Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-15-2011, 09:24 PM

Last photo:

I donít know of any delicate way to put this, but, Iíll try any ways.

First photo: two separate pieces should have been removed and repaired then painted separately, then re-installed. Instead cheap seam sealer was used and due to the normal flex and vibration of the joint paint is peeling and separation is evident. Cure: parts need to be removed and properly repaired and painted then re-installed.

Second photo: Poor adhesion is evident here. Moreover, the panel on the left has a hairline crack in the paint. Reason, third photo provides the answer.

Third Photo: Way too much red hardener in Dura glass.
Old 05-15-2011, 09:47 PM

Last photo:

X2 Just what he said.
Old 05-16-2011, 03:51 AM

Last photo: