help.....my car wont run in gear - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2011, 07:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: florida
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
help.....my car wont run in gear

i have a 57 ford custom 300....with a 272 y block.....i have a tri power set up and only running on center carb.........blocked all holes and new vac hoses.....i can get it to idle great but as soon as i put it into gear it either stalls........or runs really rough....an anyone help?.....its an offenhauser intake with holley 94s on it...thank you
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2011, 07:18 PM
eloc431962's Avatar
Evil Wicked Mean And Nasty
 
Last wiki edit: Pilot bearing and bushings
Last journal entry: roof repair
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: back in the garage.
Posts: 13,758
Wiki Edits: 37

Thanks: 50
Thanked 28 Times in 24 Posts
Welcome to the site, You need to post this in the engine section not everyone checks the "INTRO" section.
You will get more responses there.

Cole
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2011, 08:52 AM
h0trod389's Avatar
youll see me sideways
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N0r*cAL
Age: 37
Posts: 476
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
we ran into this problem with my neighbors 63 falcon wagon... she idles perfect, revvs perfect, soon as you drop it into gear, it dies.... the culprit = a fubar'd torque converter
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2011, 09:01 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Crosby NE Houston Texas
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratfink72
i have a 57 ford custom 300....with a 272 y block.....i have a tri power set up and only running on center carb.........blocked all holes and new vac hoses.....i can get it to idle great but as soon as i put it into gear it either stalls........or runs really rough....an anyone help?.....its an offenhauser intake with holley 94s on it...thank you
Sounds Like your Intake Manifold is either leaking at the intake ports or base plate of carb is loose (got a vacumn leak somewhere), If the intake has a egr valve port it is either open or leaking etc, Engine loses more vacumn than carb can produce, also check your firing order on the plug wirs something is causing it to run rough, a vacumn guage installed will tell the story, if PCV Valve port is open without a hose/PCV Valve on it ; it will die also the vacumn line for the brake power booster same problem if you have power brakes on it. davidd.goff@yahoo.com
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2011, 09:56 AM
1ownerT's Avatar
Home School Valedictorian
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Iowa
Age: 52
Posts: 1,645
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
A 272 Y-block Offenhauser intake with a EGR port...hmmm.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2011, 10:36 AM
Blazin72's Avatar
You got a leaky spark tube...
 
Last wiki edit: Rearend removal
Last journal entry: General Lee
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Union, WA
Age: 32
Posts: 2,868
Wiki Edits: 19

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
What's your timing set at? An engine can sound like it's running great when there is no load on it with out of whack ignition timing and carb tuning but it can run very poorly and have no power once it's placed under load (in gear).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2011, 12:49 PM
F-BIRD'88's Avatar
Yada Yada Yada
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,181
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 292 Times in 289 Posts
Does this motor have a cam that is larger than stock?

High perf cams need higher converter stall and increased initial timing at idle.

The idle should be "shared" by all three carbs if all three have idle circuits.
Remove each carb and flip it over. Look at the throttle blade opening and the idle transfer slot exposure at the throttle edge. PRE Set all the same with about .020" of transfer slot exposure. Reinstall the carbs and do not touch the idle speed adjustment from the preset setting. Start it up and give it all the base initial spark advance it needs to idle in gear. at 700 to 900rpm.
adjust the idle mixture screws but not the idle speed screws.
More idle timing give more idle rpm. Make sure you are idleing on the base of the curve, not up on the curve, so that idle timing does not drop off when in gear..
Recurve the distributor to allow the required idle timing and the correct max mach advance for full power. Then dial in the vacuum advance.

Check for a fix all vacuum leaks.

If this motor "has a cam in it" you may need a high stall converter.

the carbs will need to be custom dialed in for best results. (idle circuits, main jetting, power circuit, air bleeds) Get a vacuum gauge and a AFR meter/gauge to help you get it right.

Last edited by F-BIRD'88; 02-05-2011 at 12:54 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2011, 04:54 PM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 595 Times in 545 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratfink72
i can get it to idle great but as soon as i put it into gear it either stalls
You have to set the dwell first, THEN the timing if using points. Did you set the timing w/the vacuum advance disconnected and plugged?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Put a shift kit in and now wont go into gear? nova327 Transmission - Rearend 4 08-13-2010 03:30 PM
700 r4 wont move in any gear gman398 Transmission - Rearend 21 08-23-2009 09:58 AM
4l60e First Gear Wont Shift chevy71z Introduce Yourself 5 08-11-2008 10:58 AM
my c-4 transmission wont go into gear 85stangboy Transmission - Rearend 9 02-27-2005 10:47 AM
HELP PLEASE,tranny wont go into gear..... Rubberman2003 Transmission - Rearend 6 06-08-2003 12:02 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.