Hot Rod Forum banner

Help please-sanded through base coat

8K views 11 replies 5 participants last post by  fastblueheeler 
#1 ·
As you can tell, I'm a beginner. Painted the car with Chev silver blue poly then clear coated it. Used Omni paint. Had some runs in the clear, so in attempting to sand them down I cut into and through the base to the primer. I sanded the spot with 600 and tried to put more base coat on. It blistered around the sanded area. Whats the best way to deal with this. And I'm finding out that metallic doesn't blend well. Is there a trick to applying it to get a consistent color or should I give up and go to a solid color. My base coat was pretty smooth but I had the areas where there is more blue than silver. I'm thinking metallic is beyond my skill level. Thanks

#2 ·
Metallic is a hard paint to learn how to paint with. even good painters sometimes have flow problems. The light and dark shades you have is called ghosting. the only way to fix that is repaint. Sand the clear off and seal with re coat sealer, then start over. You have to have the right air pressure and thinner to get the metallic to flow right(I like to use a little retarder to get flow out right). HTH.

Good Luck
Troy

#3 ·
You have yourself in a jam.

The RIGHT way to do it would be like Troy-Curt said. Strip the car back down, re-seal it, then start again.

You have other options that aren't as "correct", but are doable, and CAN produce a stable, lasting job.

Seeing as you have ghosting, you have almost no choice than to respray the basecoat. The question is whether you are planning on taking all of your paint back off or not first. If you feel that your original sealing job was adequate, there is no reason you cannot scuff the clear that you have on there now, reshoot your basecoat then reclear as long as you keep your thickness to a minimum.