help porting 305 h.o. heads - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2004, 05:16 AM

Last journal entry: 2 years later
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

help porting 305 h.o. heads

hi guys , i aquired a set of 416 casting 305 high output heads from a friend who ownes an auto salvage yard. they seem fine (lots of carbon though)and i need to get them tanked and checked.
they are 58 c.c. chambers,1.87 intake and 1.5 exhaust.
i learned a bit about 882 casting 350 heads from porting them at home. things like those heads were lacking on the exhaust side .
I have no knowledge on the 416 casting head though.
ultimately i would like to fit them to a 350 but i hear you all about choking itself to death at 4000 rpm.therefore i would like to make them the best 305 heads they can be.
what i need to know is what are the areas of these heads that need the most attention? do i gasket match the intake , exhaust,do i unshroud the valves?do i need to clean up the short turn radius much? what about the area where the exhaust comes around the valve,(i widened this area out in the 882's since it lacked in the exhaust.)
If anyone has done these heads over and had them flow benched please let me know where to attack.
if there is anyone with good knowledge of porting please let me know where to begin .thanks in advance , mike

Advertisement
Advertisement

Old 12-04-2004, 05:35 AM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: Auto Terms and Definitions Used in Modern Engine T... Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 2