Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Body - Exterior (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/body-exterior/)
-   -   Help with PPG Deltron base coat paint and clear coat Please (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/help-ppg-deltron-base-coat-paint-clear-coat-please-169291.html)

smithkustoms 12-01-2009 12:50 AM

Help with PPG Deltron base coat paint and clear coat Please

OK I do paint and body work for a living from my home garage. Today I had a customer come in with a gallon of "steel blue metallic" PPG Deltron 2000 base-coat and activator, That they relay relay want sprayed. Trust me I did everything i could to talk them out. I relay need to job for Christmas money and figure I spray about anything.. I 99% of the time spray DuPont paints, chromabase, or nason ful-base and ful-thane. To be honest this is my first time using PPG paint.

I was able to get the data sheet on line form PPG's web site and the spray seems easy enough. But I cant find out what type of paint the deltron 2000 is. Is it a urethane, acrylic enamel, lacquer or etc. ? The strange part that has me stumped. The data sheet and back side of the can, says "base coat" in many places, But will also brag about "High-gloss and distinctiveness of image"
And it says " The technology is an easy-to-use as a one or two-component solvent-borne technology"

Does that mean it can be used with or with out the activator? OR With or with out clear coat? Ive never seen a paint more confusing before. Here I am about to paint this car, And I don't have a clue if this paint is bc/cc or single stage!

Next question is, I don't believe the owners are going to be happy when I tell them the deltron clear coat is $250. Are they another clear coat that can be sprayed over the Deltron 2000 base coat? I have a fresh gallon of nason urethane select clear and activator I need to use, can I use the Nason urethane clear over the PPG?