Hot Rod Forum banner

help with weird oil leak

4K views 27 replies 15 participants last post by  ssmonty 
#1 ·
ive been toying around with motors for several years with the help of my father (a long time gear head) well hes gotten to the point where it got a few misses up stairs if you know what i mean. any way to the point

I have a sbc in my malibu right now matted to a muncie 4speed with 2.73 rear gears.
when really get in the throttle it sprays oil all over my passenger sid of the car covers my brakes and entire right side of the block... i have oil spray in the locations i marked with a red arrow in the picture.

i changed the oil pan gasket and pan. new fuel pump/gaskets new timing set and cover/gaskets (it a billet aluminum one now) valve cover gaskets pcv system

i dont blow my dipstick out when under load. but i blow oil everywhere the motor has about 30k on it after it was rebuilt. i changed to a breather instead of a plug... im lost and about to toss this motor..

See less See more
#2 ·
First thing I'd check is for a missing (or loose) bolt that is used as a plug for the threaded hole that runs at 90 degrees to the fuel pump push rod passage. The threaded hole is there for a bolt to be temporarily inserted to retain the fuel pump push rod when the pump is R&R'ed. If the short bolt that functions as a plug to this passage is missing oil that dribbles along this shaft will be blown out of the lower front of the block on the passenger side, most of it will be there and in the wheel well, but some will be picked up by the fan and underhood air currents and spread around in other places.

Bogie

#6 ·