Help! what frame to put under a chevy 1 1/2 ton truck? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-28-2008, 02:11 AM
Riley

Last journal entry: 1927 international
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Help! what frame to put under a chevy 1 1/2 ton truck?

This is my first build. Pour old truck is more rust than a builder. Anyway...I want to know if anybody out there can tell me what modern(ish) day frame would slip up underneath this 1930 1 1/2 ton chevy flat bed cab and fenders that I have. I meaaaan, I COULD go looking around..but if somebody out there allready knows it sure would save me some time. My main problem is the track width. I measured 56 inches from center of front wheel to center of front wheel. My main concern is finding some frame with a front wheel base that is close to that. incodentally the rear of the truck frame from outside to out side was 37 inches and the front of the truck frame was 27 inches. The truck has those Johnboy walton fenders and running boards on it. I'm thinking I am going to have to do some helacous sheetmetal and fabricating work to make them look right on another frame. I would sorta like to keep the frame that's under the truck but I have two problems. #1. the old lady is ALL READY wanting it out of here,so I have got to move fast, and #2. I'm working with a REAL LIFE budget...meaning going cheap all the way, besides..I just want a rat rod anyway. You know,something loud and with gears that will turn some heads. Another thing...the truck has 16 inch wheels on it. I am assuming that whatever newer frame that goes under it should have at least 15's on it,right? Also, I was thinking about using a 1979 ford mustang frame,because I know where to get one right now cheap wit