Hey Doc How do I wire this? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-27-2005, 08:19 PM
Ratchet's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Ontario Camaro Nationals 2008
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: London Ontario Canada Aye
Age: 55
Posts: 334
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hey Doc How do I wire this?

I have an 87 Camaro that started life with air conditioning. I wanted to take all that stuff out of the engine bay to clean it up so the rebuild calls for an Air conditioning delete box. I have the correct fan and the correct heater box now and I have the plug off of the old box for the fan controls but the connector on the wire harness of the car is for an Air Conditioned set up. Here are a couple of pictures. I need to put the wires shown on the correct terminals of the connector shown for the fan controls. Can you help me with which wire goes where to do this conversion. I am guessing that the purple wire which comes from the relay will not go to the fan control at all. I am thinking it will go directly to the blower motor. If that is correct where do the others go??

Please see pics attached

Thanks
Ric
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AirConditionPlug.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	152.1 KB
ID:	6062   Click image for larger version

Name:	AirDeleteConector.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	197.1 KB
ID:	6063   Click image for larger version

Name:	AirDeletePlug2.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	243.0 KB
ID:	6064  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-31-2005, 12:10 PM
bullheimer's Avatar
NEVER use credit cards!
 

Last journal entry: car with tt2's, (stockers going back on)
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North of Seattle
Posts: 2,524
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
i think he's gone fishin
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-01-2005, 06:36 PM
Ratchet's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Ontario Camaro Nationals 2008
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: London Ontario Canada Aye
Age: 55
Posts: 334
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Anybody else know how to wire this up?
I found these diagrams any suggestions now?








Ric
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	blowercontrols AC.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	56.7 KB
ID:	6126   Click image for larger version

Name:	heaterdiagram without AC.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	61.4 KB
ID:	6127  

Last edited by Ratchet; 08-01-2005 at 08:29 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-2005, 02:22 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 61
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Wiring

Doc here,

If your using the stock hardware, then follow the diagram as laid out..You'll be fine.

If your using something else, you need to identify wire function, and cross~reference.

If you wish, you can build a"secondary harness" per the diagram, and bench test it before installing it in the vehicle...Then all you should require is fused power and ground.

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-2005, 05:52 PM
Ratchet's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Ontario Camaro Nationals 2008
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: London Ontario Canada Aye
Age: 55
Posts: 334
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My problem is that I am using the heater sport coupe set up with the three terminal blower resistor, matching fan and heater box.

But the wireharness in the car has the 4 terminal blower resistor connector and the 4 position switch inside the car. That means I will have one extra wire. The tan wire that comes from the blower switch inside the car will have no place to be hooked up on the resistor pack (only three terminals,)

Should I just leave it off or should I hook it up to the same terminal as the blue wire???

If I did that would it just mean that the medium 1 and medium 2 setting on the switch would run the blower fan at the same speed or could this cause some other kind of problem?

Thanks
Ric
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2005, 09:13 AM
rrmccabe's Avatar
GM Muscle
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Des Moines, IA
Age: 52
Posts: 518
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Are you trying to do a restoration and have it 100% authentic or just make it work?

The reason the AC model has a different setup is because the 4th position closes a relay that runs full power to the blower motor. The non AC cars did not blow as hard and did not need the high current setting and motor. They do this since the small switch will not take that much current.

So if you are not using the AC motor you can wire it up so th 4th position on your switch is not used or so the 3rd and 4th are wired together and both provide the high position.

Let me know what your intent is for the car. Original or not. And I can tell you what to cross over and where.

Rich
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2005, 10:32 AM
Ratchet's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Ontario Camaro Nationals 2008
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: London Ontario Canada Aye
Age: 55
Posts: 334
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
This baby is a hotrod. The reason for getting rid of the Air Conditioning was because you don't need that to go fast and it makes the engine bay look really messy. All I want the heater to do is defog the windows so you can see when your going fast (at the track).

Thanks
Ric
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2005, 12:36 PM
rrmccabe's Avatar
GM Muscle
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Des Moines, IA
Age: 52
Posts: 518
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Before I type my reply, do you have the old resistor that was on the AC plenun and if so does if physically fit in the non AC plenum?

Rich
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2005, 03:39 PM
Ratchet's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Ontario Camaro Nationals 2008
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: London Ontario Canada Aye
Age: 55
Posts: 334
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
don't have it I could get one but it would not fit in the AC delete housing without some cutting. The AC delete housing has 4 coats pure gold base 6 sunset red midcoats and 4 coats of clear coat on it. Don't really want to cut it.


If you look close you can see the heater box in the top left hand corner of the pic
Ric

Last edited by Ratchet; 08-03-2005 at 03:53 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2005, 04:17 PM
rrmccabe's Avatar
GM Muscle
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Des Moines, IA
Age: 52
Posts: 518
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Look on the inside under the dash. I thought you had it located.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2005, 05:59 PM
Ratchet's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Ontario Camaro Nationals 2008
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: London Ontario Canada Aye
Age: 55
Posts: 334
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
[QUOTE=Ratchet]don't have it I could get one but it would not fit in the AC delete housing without some cutting.

The AC delete housing has 4 coats pure gold base 6 sunset red midcoats and 4 coats of clear coat on it. Don't really want to cut it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2005, 06:04 PM
rrmccabe's Avatar
GM Muscle
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Des Moines, IA
Age: 52
Posts: 518
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Not sure what you mean by your quote of above post. I am not talking about the outside heater core cover, I am talking about the inside air box.

Where is this http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/atta...achmentid=6064 located?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2005, 08:49 AM
Ratchet's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Ontario Camaro Nationals 2008
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: London Ontario Canada Aye
Age: 55
Posts: 334
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The resistor pack is located in the engine bay on the front face of the blower motor box Which is also in the engine bay.

Ric
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2005, 09:10 AM
rrmccabe's Avatar
GM Muscle
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Des Moines, IA
Age: 52
Posts: 518
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
OK, so you have the option to install the other resistor if you want and pick up all the speeds.

You still havent said if you still have the old resistor.

Rich
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2005, 10:41 AM
Ratchet's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Ontario Camaro Nationals 2008
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: London Ontario Canada Aye
Age: 55
Posts: 334
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I don't have the other one I could get one but three speeds is just fine with me. Remember the heater is just so I can defog the windows on those muggy nights coming back from the drag strip or Mosport.



Ric
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what stereo wires under carpet? bullheimer Electrical 19 05-06-2005 06:37 PM
3 wire oxigen sensors 70bird Electrical 3 04-24-2005 09:32 AM
Points question (Hey Doc!) garretthes Engine 14 09-26-2004 09:13 PM
Suggestions on the best flux core wire? 357ford Body - Exterior 3 06-08-2004 11:23 AM
Where to get new seat wire three64s Interior 3 05-03-2004 11:28 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.