Hey Willys ! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2004, 07:14 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Hey Willys !

I checked out your journal last nite. Pretty impressive. Really enjoyed it. I'm an engineer by trade and must say that you and others like you here at Hotrodders do more backyard engineering than I ever dreamed of.

You had some shots of the power steering for your 53....I've drooled over the thought of power steering for my 55 , 2nd series
for a long time. I've read quite a number of how to's and I like your system the best. Some others are a power assist type system...much like the original power steering shown in the factory assembly manual..others use 70's truck components.

I have seen one other article that used the Tyota components. What I didn't like about the one I saw, was the stering box was actually mounted in the wheel well, between the frame rail and the tire. I wondering if they did it that way because possibly they didn't straighten the pitman as you did and had to do it that way to line things up. Your install was slick.

If I get around to doing it I'll ask more questions then, But for now I have three questions:

1) What were the results? Totally satisfied? Some of the hook ups can be purchased as a kit?

2) Your frame etc looked identical to my 55. Would this work for a 55?

3) I've got a 6 cylinder. Would it be asking too much from a 6 to power the power steering pump?

Thanks...

Keith

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-03-2004, 09:14 AM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: How to rebuild a Rochester Quadrajet 4MV carbureto...
Last journal entry: How to change auto shift timing on 200R4
Last photo: