HF Polisher/Sander - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2008, 04:26 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

HF Polisher/Sander

Anyone on here use this one? Would be using it to buff and polish our car.

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=92623

Would like the Makita 9227 but if this one does the job then it might be a good alternative.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-01-2008, 08:56 AM

Last journal entry: Phase 1 is complete!
Last photo:

I bought one of these to buff out my new paint job, and thus far has worked pretty well. I'm no pro, but as long as I've used the foam pads, I haven't had any problem burning the paint. I did burn a small section when I used a wool pad, but since then, I've stayed with the foam pads and slow speeds and it is working well. Typical HF quality, but if it lasts the job, I'll be happy. I got mine on sale for $30.

Rob
Old 09-01-2008, 09:17 AM
adtkart@aol.com

Last photo:

The buffer is not what determines if you burn the paint, it's how it is used. I have seen people do it with Dewalt and Makita buffers too.

I have one of those buffers. If you lived close, I'd give it to you, if I didn't like you, that is. They say that it is "variable speed", which is correct. The speed on mine varies all the time, no matter what the setting is. I know another guy that has the same one, and his does the same thing. Took mine back once for that problem and got it replaced with another one that does the same thing. Then I bought the Makita.

A good buffer makes the job a lot easier.

Aaron
Old 09-01-2008, 09:33 AM

Last journal entry: Phase 1 is complete!
Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by adtkart