Hi. just wondering why the 350 chevy small block is so good... - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-13-2004, 10:42 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Hi. just wondering why the 350 chevy small block is so good...

Hi!
I am a newbie to this site. I joined because I have heard of the 350 small block chevy being an amazing engine, and having driven a 1989 2500 chevy (with a 350 chevy engine) silverado, and then a 1996 dodge 1500 ram with a 390 magnum engine, I felt the difference in power with the 350 chevy being the much more powerful.

So my question is what makes the chevy 350 so special, and so revered? I am a bit puzzled as to why the chevy has so much kick compared to the bigger engine(s)....... can anyone explain this to me?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-13-2004, 10:47 PM

Last journal entry: better comparison before and after shots
Last photo:

Welcome to Hotrodders.com

cause they've been around forever, there's been a gazillion and a half made, and performance parts are less expensive than anything else. and they're reliably good motors. and cheap.
everyone and their cousin can afford to build one. not hatin'.
Old 07-13-2004, 11:12 PM

Thanks for the reply, but I am still puzzled about the power aspect. Is there more 'kick' because of the way the engine is configured, in terms of bore x stroke?

Last edited by judgedredd; 07-13-2004 at 11:14 PM.
Old 07-14-2004, 01:18 AM
Just one of the guys

Last journal entry: Garage Toys
Last photo:

Maybe not a gazillion and a half Just funnin' with ya Larry!!!

From another site:

Dear Straight Dope:

How much is a gazillion, exactly? --johnt@ci.carpinteria.ca.us

SDSTAFF Dex replies: