Hot Rod Forum banner

Hit the brakes and lose the volts...?

1K views 13 replies 8 participants last post by  Magikal 
#1 ·
I have an 1983 K5 Blazer (diesel original, 350SBC now w/ original harness). I have been driving this for many years now with no grief until just last weekend I went to leave the hardware store (during work of course) and went to back up out of the parking space. As soon as I depressed the brake pedal the truck died. I restarted, again it died w/ the brakes. I have no brake lights, no fuses blown. My voltmeter drops to dead bottom when the brakes are depressed and thankfully I didn't have a fire on my hands. I ran a jumper wire to the HEI temproraily to get me home. By the time I got home (20 mi later) I had no turn signals and my power windows wouldn't work either. My guess is a dead short in the harnass somewhere against perhaps some body metal or through the firewall......

I just wanted to get your two cents worth and perhaps some guidelines for an efficient and effective procedure to troubleshoot this problem. I certainly don't want to burn my truck down and I am scared with it not blowing any fuses.

Add on:

Ok, went to work on it today and behold, after sitting a week, I could not duplicate any of the issues I had last weekend. Wierd!! What else to do but field test so I put on over 10 miles in town (stop,go,turns, etc) and 30 miles on highway with no issues. Went to back up at dad's and suddenly it all came back again. Seemed like it happened when I put in reverse. matter of fact, it did it before when I put it in reverse. I have a brand new ignition module. Could the Neutral Safety switch cause this? I bought a new ignition switch just to eliminate that as it is cheap enough. No, I haven't gotten it installed yet.

Help please!!! PS. Got a fire extinguisher too!!!

See less See more
#3 ·