hmmm rust removal...an answer please - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2005, 08:18 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

hmmm rust removal...an answer please

one: i have recieved a '72 cougar about 2 weeks ago, which was recovered from the katrina fiasco about 3-4 months. it was in the middle of 8 ft. of water. for how long i don't know. Whihc woudl seem to pose a problem. and i need some tips removing the rust since this is my first time eer tackling sucha project.

i hear something called a chemical bath mentioned. i guess it's basically dipping the body in chemicals to remove all the rust. But would any of you recommend that? where can i get that done? how much woudl it set me back?

Or is this simply just not for me as a newb.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-30-2005, 08:27 PM
Out of the Loop Moderator

Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 5

Just my opinion, but a car that has sat in 8 ft of water has a lot more problems than a bit of rust. Every non metal piece in there is probably ruined....the electrical itself will be a nightmare.
Old 12-30-2005, 08:31 PM

Last photo:

That wasn't just "water" it was sitting in....good luck with the project...you are a braver man than I.
Old 12-30-2005, 09:01 PM
Frmly sc*ot.

The answer is right on your desktop

Scan the '72 Cougar onto your desktop and then drag it up into The Recycle Bin.
Old 12-30-2005, 09:38 PM

problems..oh yes many

well yes there are goign to be many porblems, especially the eletrical, and deffinitely mechanicle.