holley 650dp for my 355 - Page 3 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2013, 04:31 PM
lg1969's Avatar
Google "Tunnel Ram 406"
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bohemia, L.I.N.Y.
Age: 64
Posts: 1,059
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
Remove the check ball in the housing. It will make a big difference. Use the paper clip method to see if the secondary is opening.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2013, 04:47 PM
spinn's Avatar
Reviewing the situation
 

Last journal entry: This makes a huge difference
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: here
Posts: 2,555
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 88 Times in 85 Posts
I built my racing 440 about 20 years ago.

I haven't had time to go to a track in 10+ years.

There is no track for me in 250 miles in any direction.

It would have to be a family thing, and my girlfriend is a big city person who hates cars.

You would remove the checkball on only low vacuum engines or all?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2013, 04:51 PM
lg1969's Avatar
Google "Tunnel Ram 406"
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bohemia, L.I.N.Y.
Age: 64
Posts: 1,059
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
The reason your secondary did not open all the way is that is all the motor wants. Secondary will only open what the motor needs. If you use a 780 CFM carb and the motor can only pull 700 CFM, the secondary will only open so much.
BTW: I do not have check ball in dual quad vacuum secondary Holley tunnel ram setup and does not bog at all. The tires spin so fast it practically put a hole on the black top, and it has 15" of vacuum at idle.

Last edited by lg1969; 03-26-2013 at 05:05 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2013, 05:09 PM
spinn's Avatar
Reviewing the situation
 

Last journal entry: This makes a huge difference
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: here
Posts: 2,555
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 88 Times in 85 Posts
A hole in the blacktop...really?

My grand coupe clocked a 13.0 flat back in about 92.

440, .509 cam, single plane,727 hi stall, 4.10 gear, hoosier DOT. It was a lot of fun. I followed the reciepe on the box. The jobber connection parts had formulas on the back for bracket racing. So I built the 13 second car, and it ran 13 seconds . Go figure.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2013, 02:43 PM
prettyboyced's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: houston tx
Age: 23
Posts: 181
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Do I change to springs to limit mech advance or weights
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2013, 03:02 PM
lg1969's Avatar
Google "Tunnel Ram 406"
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bohemia, L.I.N.Y.
Age: 64
Posts: 1,059
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
How much manifold vacuum are you running at idle? The cam looks pretty big. What is the cam specs if you know?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2013, 03:08 PM
prettyboyced's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: houston tx
Age: 23
Posts: 181
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
To b honest I have no Idea do I plug a vacuum gauge to the carb??? All I kno it's a enough to keep vacuum brakes and power steering
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2013, 03:11 PM
lg1969's Avatar
Google "Tunnel Ram 406"
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bohemia, L.I.N.Y.
Age: 64
Posts: 1,059
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
Just enough. Sounds to me you are running under 10" at idle and 7" in gear.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2013, 04:36 PM
prettyboyced's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: houston tx
Age: 23
Posts: 181
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
To b honest I have no Idea do I plug a vacuum gauge to the carb??? All I kno it's a enough to keep vacuum brakes and power steering
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2013, 04:40 PM
spinn's Avatar
Reviewing the situation
 

Last journal entry: This makes a huge difference
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: here
Posts: 2,555
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 88 Times in 85 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by F-BIRD'88 View Post

vac secondaries do not work on manifold vacuum at all.
.
Okay that is the second person to say this.

If you drill a big hole in the manifold, your carbs secondary, or the carb for that matter is not going to pull fuel. So manifold vacuum is the signal that makes the carb function. Or the negative pressure underneath the carb to simplify it even more.

I think you are having a problem because of a comment I made about my engine. That I had described the idle with a unit of vacuum and where I measured this.

I have worked with carbs for years of all types. To say that it would have opened all the way racing, and NOT stumbled at cruise, is a bold statement.

The port for the pod is at the venturi. Of coarse , that is the best place to get a signal for the pod.

To say that the vacuum underneath the carb don't have anything to do with operation, now said twice, is not believeable.

Last edited by spinn; 03-27-2013 at 04:51 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2013, 04:58 PM
lg1969's Avatar
Google "Tunnel Ram 406"
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bohemia, L.I.N.Y.
Age: 64
Posts: 1,059
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
What happen to the manifold vacuum when you floor the gas pedal. It drops to zero or close to it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2013, 05:08 PM
spinn's Avatar
Reviewing the situation
 

Last journal entry: This makes a huge difference
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: here
Posts: 2,555
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 88 Times in 85 Posts
It goes to 9 lbs of boost.

LG, Are you going to explain your comment?

A venturi does not generate vacuum. It pulls a fluid.

A nozzle on a garden hose , when you open it. The water pressure comes from the faucet not the spray nozzle.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2013, 05:11 PM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 60
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 598 Times in 547 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by prettyboyced View Post
Do I change to springs to limit mech advance or weights
Neither. If you have a GM hei, info on limiting the mechanical advance, as well as timing info in general, is here.

Quote:
To b honest I have no Idea do I plug a vacuum gauge to the carb??? All I kno it's a enough to keep vacuum brakes and power steering
To check the vacuum, connect a vacuum gauge to a FULL TIME vacuum source, also called "manifold" vacuum. A manifold vacuum source can be located on the carb (on the baseplate of a Holley), OR from a port located on the runner of the intake manifold.

The 'other' type of vacuum signal is called "ported" vacuum. Ported vacuum is absent (or nearly so, depending on how far the primary throttle blades are opened to set the idle speed) w/the throttle blades closed because of where the vacuum orifice is located in the carb (above the throttle plates), and will only be present when the throttle blades are opened to some degree. On a Holley, ported vacuum port is the one located on the metering block.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2013, 05:17 PM
lg1969's Avatar
Google "Tunnel Ram 406"
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bohemia, L.I.N.Y.
Age: 64
Posts: 1,059
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinn View Post
It goes to 9 lbs of boost.

LG, Are you going to explain your comment?

A venturi does not generate vacuum. It pulls a fluid.

A nozzle on a garden hose , when you open it. The water pressure comes from the faucet not the spray nozzle.
I'm gone.....Goodby
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2013, 05:23 PM
spinn's Avatar
Reviewing the situation
 

Last journal entry: This makes a huge difference
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: here
Posts: 2,555
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 88 Times in 85 Posts
Look in my journal I run a roots blower.

What?

Please explain the secondary not needing vacuum. I feel like im not hearing something, but your quotes speak for themselves.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Holley 650dp too much for engine? bad street carb? IntrstlarOvrdrve Engine 8 11-02-2010 11:16 PM
Holley 650dp holley 750dp dave350v8 Engine 4 10-12-2010 10:45 AM
Adjusting 650 Holley on 355 Bonger6 Engine 3 07-12-2010 08:58 AM
Holley 4150 650dp specs chevythmpr Engine 1 11-29-2009 02:58 PM
Holley 4150 355 won't stay idling! fastrehotrods Engine 6 05-27-2006 08:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.