Hot Rod Forum banner

Holley 650dp too much for engine? bad street carb?

14K views 8 replies 7 participants last post by  dklong 
#1 ·
Sorry for the newb questions, I am fairly new to the game and I keep running into problems. Anyway, I have a holley 650 double pumper that I am having hesitation issues with, it is fine idling around and doesn't stumble when I ease into the throttle but as soon as I go more than half throttle it will bog down then come alive. My dad thinks that it is too much carb for the engine and wants me to put a holley 600 on it with vac secondaries as he says it will be better for the street. I still think it might be another problem such as the power valve, but I don't know how to check if that is the problem or see what I need to do. Here is my set up: 388 with comp cams xe274h, holley dominator intake, dart sportsman II heads and accel ignition with 14 degrees BTDC timing. The plugs are not fouling out but I have also noticed that after heavy acceleration when I let off it smokes like its running rich for a moment. What could be causing this hesitation? Thanks!

#3 · (Edited)
Mine has excellent mech street manners, burn rubber on the fly. Changing carbs is not the answer. Rebuild what you have, it's easy and 40 bucks. I had the same problem, turned out to be a clogged fuel sock collapsing. Check your float levels, be sure you have enough fuel in the both bowls and your are not running out of fuel. Don't overlook any restrictions in the fuel delivery, particuly under load. You can do very little on the driveway. That carb requires a fair amount of gas. Squirt up to a 31's, dump the 28's. Set your idles mixtures to about 1 or more turns out. Check vacumn at idle, besure your choke is not engaging, check fuel pressure under load, vacumn can be 10+ at idle with cam, 6.5 power valve will be fine IF OPENING. It has to be delivery. (Is it mech or vac?) Replace rear tires after a few runs.

#4 ·