Holley 650dp too much for engine? bad street carb? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2010, 01:59 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Holley 650dp too much for engine? bad street carb?

Sorry for the newb questions, I am fairly new to the game and I keep running into problems. Anyway, I have a holley 650 double pumper that I am having hesitation issues with, it is fine idling around and doesn't stumble when I ease into the throttle but as soon as I go more than half throttle it will bog down then come alive. My dad thinks that it is too much carb for the engine and wants me to put a holley 600 on it with vac secondaries as he says it will be better for the street. I still think it might be another problem such as the power valve, but I don't know how to check if that is the problem or see what I need to do. Here is my set up: 388 with comp cams xe274h, holley dominator intake, dart sportsman II heads and accel ignition with 14 degrees BTDC timing. The plugs are not fouling out but I have also noticed that after heavy acceleration when I let off it smokes like its running rich for a moment. What could be causing this hesitation? Thanks!

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-02-2010, 02:03 PM

Last photo:

try using slower accelerator pump cams or smaller squirters. That is NOT too much carb, it just needs to be properly tuned.
Old 11-02-2010, 03:24 PM
Jesus loves you I don't...

Last photo: