Holley Annihilator/mallory Unilite - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2004, 06:48 PM
400C53F100's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dover DE
Age: 73
Posts: 50
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Holley Annihilator/mallory Unilite

I have a Holley Annhilator CD unit and a Mallory Unilite Dist. also a Mallory Promaster coil. I have had this setup for a few years. It used to run great, but more recently I have had some trouble with it. After a new cylinder head change, I can't get it to run right. It misses and loads the plugs up. I disconnected the Holley unit and hooked the ignition up as a conventional igntion. I runs fine that way. After running with the CD unit disconnected, I reconnect it and the problem returns. I would like to use my CD unit. Should I bite the bullet and replace the Holley CD unit? What should I replace it with. I don't like the MSD 6AL, because of the rev limit plugs.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2004, 11:54 AM
bullheimer's Avatar
NEVER use credit cards!
 

Last journal entry: car with tt2's, (stockers going back on)
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North of Seattle
Posts: 2,529
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
i know this might sound stupid. but since i dont know anything about that holley unit, this is all i got. everytime i see the word uni-lite and trouble running i have to tell people about how my unitlite with a std coil burned the conductor of my coil wire in half right in the middle of the wire so you couldnt see it. nothing on the outside or either end. had to pull it apart to see it. dont remember what made me do it but i had already replaced the module and it was still missing. soo, take an old peice of plug wire and stick it in there and see if anything changes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2004, 01:13 PM
Pony's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lynnwood, Wa.
Age: 67
Posts: 721
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Have you called Holley tech line? The reason I asked is that I'm using a MSD6A and while working near the terminal block for the MSD hook up I shorted it out and killed the MSD unit. I called MSD tech, told them I screwed it up and asked how much to fix it. They fixed it for free and even paid return shipping. Bottom line, good companies are loyal to there customers and should make an effort to keep you as a customer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-08-2004, 06:24 AM
400C53F100's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dover DE
Age: 73
Posts: 50
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I think that I have found the problem. I have a 2 ft. length of coil wire between the Mallory Promaster coil and the Unilite Dist. It measures 19,000 ohms between the terminals. My plug wires were MSD, but that coil wire was some brand X resistor wire. The spark energy must have cooked the conductor over time.

I just got a new set of Taylor Universal Spiro-Pro wires. This set has a 36" length of Coil Wire. I just have to terminate it and install it. I'll get that done today and see if that fixes the problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-10-2004, 06:07 PM
400C53F100's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dover DE
Age: 73
Posts: 50
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Replacing the coil wire did not fix the problem entirely, but I did find evidence of tracking inside the Mallory cap. I have a new cap and rotor ordered.

I would like to change to a MSD distributor with a 5" diameter cap, but the short term fix is to replace the cap and rotor.

Has anyone run a MSD dist with a 5' cap?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-10-2004, 09:31 PM
Pony's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lynnwood, Wa.
Age: 67
Posts: 721
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Are you sure that the length of your coil wire isn't your root problem. Cd units fire the plugs 2 to 3 time each cycle below 3,000 rpms vs the stock set up firing only once. It seems like a long coil wire could come into play. Iv'e always been told to keep the coil wire a short as possible on high output coils although I can't find it in writing anywhere and don't know that for a fact myself. This board has a lot of sharp guys on it, you could always ask the board about how long is too long for a coil wire.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.