Hot Rod Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Home-made cam doctor...

31K views 21 replies 8 participants last post by  engineczar 
#1 ·
The builder of my short block didn't provide me a cam card (I should've withheld payment 'til I got it :nono: ). I have a cam degreeing kit from Comp. I assume there is a way to work up the typical cam card data with a degree wheel, a dial indicator and some technique... what is the technique?

#2 ·
Some Wooden V blocks and a dal indicator will get it done. Put the degree wheel on it of you wanna get IOEC.

There should be No. on the cam itself on the same end the Dist. gear is and a search or email to them Should get ya what you need.

#4 ·
You're mixing terminologies. You degree a cam when it's in the block. You can't degree a cam on the bench. You're asking how to find the cam data concerning the particular lobe design. That is, to reverse engineer a cam.

It would be easier to read the model number on the cam, and call the manufacturer.

If it's some junky cam with no model number stamped in the distributor end, then just chuck it, and get a replacement with the specs you want.

#5 ·
Well yes, I am being a little loose with my terminology. I know the real Cam Doctor is a benchtop tool. What I meant was how would I go about working up the equivelant of a cam card with the cam in the block. The cam is a custom grind from Comp, according to the race motor shop that built my short block. The guy said he would send the cam card with the block, but he didn't. I had already paid him, so bugging him by phone to get the card didn't work.

This is more of a curiosity thing than anything else. I can degree the cam without the cam card info. I don't want to disassemble the motor just to get the cam number.

#6 ·
I'll try to find my post here on HR on how to do it.