hood adjustment help!!! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2008, 09:42 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

hood adjustment help!!!

I just put a new 4" cowl fiberglass hood on my 85 elco ss and the hood sticks up higher than the fender by about 1/2" on the driver side and about 1/4" on the other but it is flush on the front. Any help would be appriciated the hood is from harwood it was 640 dollars and I am ticked it won't line up!!! By the way I have no body work experience what so ever. thanks in advance

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-02-2008, 02:13 PM

Last photo:

Have you contacted Harwood? They make pretty good replacement parts but fiberglass doesn't always line up perfectly. Once it takes a set then thats pretty much where it's going to be. You can't bend it and you can't grind it down that much, and you shouldn't have to for $640. Theres alway some fitment issues with any replacement part, I would definately call them before you touch it, take some pic's and email them back to Harwood, see if they can replace it or offer a suggestion.
Old 09-02-2008, 08:06 PM
adtkart@aol.com

Last photo:

Can't picture the hinges on that vehicle right now, and don't see any photos posted, so just guessing, but likely a hinge adjustment may take care of it.

Aaron
Old 09-02-2008, 08:23 PM

Last photo: