hook up the lock-up on 700r4 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-25-2008, 02:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 34
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
hook up the lock-up on 700r4

Hi ALL!

I have an 85 Trans-am with a TH700 R4 trans , the LG4 ECM engine is gone swaped with a carbed 355 , I'm trying to hook up back a lock-up and don't have A SINGLE CLUE how to do it and the more I read the less I understand... So far I'm trying to say things in the most simple way . So far right now I have the wiring from the lock-up still in the trans, it's a 4 pin connecter that run out from the tranny going in the ECM harness that I was pulling out . Tracing this lock-up wiring shows me 3 wires: 1 is blue, 1 is pink and one is brown . My question is how could I hook back the lock up using those 3 wires if there's a way to do it so..! ????!! And I could not find any answer nowhere....

Your help would be highly appreciated!!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-25-2008, 03:31 PM
justold's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: South Jersey
Age: 66
Posts: 188
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
If you look in the knowledge base there are several articles on the subject , you do not want to operate a 700R4 without the lockup working , fluid is diverted from the cooling circuit to the lockup circuit to unlock the converter .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-25-2008, 07:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 34
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
thanks but I've read about all.All that made me even more confused.. What I need is someone who could simply tell me how I should hook up those 3 wires I have to make this lock-up work . And moreover I need that explained in VERY SIMPLY words !!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-25-2008, 09:04 PM
justold's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: South Jersey
Age: 66
Posts: 188
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
If you have three wires : purple - hot from brake light switch .
dark green : high gear switch [ not needed ]
tan / black - you want to put this wire to ground ,that's it .
When the transmission comes to temperature you will get lock up after 2/3 shift . MAKE SURE the TV cable is properly adjusted if not the transmission will not live long , check with a pressure gauge at both open and closed throttle .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-25-2008, 09:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 34
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
thanks lot for your help!!!
OK, the wires maybe were a little dirty it looked like there were a pink, brown and blue. I'll clean them more to check the colour , so If I get you when pulling out the ECM harness left ,one of those 3 wires should be running to the brake switch behind the pedal?? and the 2 others free with one of them to ground and done??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2008, 01:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 34
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
is that what I exactely need to do?

http://www.700r4.com/tech/tcc/brake_.../diagram.shtml
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2008, 06:19 PM
66chevystepside's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY
Age: 44
Posts: 128
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Looks like the hookup you need.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2008, 06:31 PM
31 five window
 

Last journal entry: Master cylinder
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: louisiana
Age: 56
Posts: 1,576
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
To the best of my knowledge that wiring diagram is for a kit not the stock set up. I think the kit is the only way to make it work without the ECM.The kits are available in Jeg's and Summit and are not hard to install.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2008, 07:37 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,060
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 316
Thanked 97 Times in 94 Posts
The wire harness systems of the early 700 trans were complex , with pressure switches at each end of the v-body.

Hooking up 12 volts to 'hole A" and the grounding "hole D " may provide lock up of the converter in 2nd , 3rd and 4th gears...

GM did activate the converter clutch in 2 - 4th gears in the early days.

Pull the pan and see what is in there is the best option.

The wire diagram posted link , is the best way to wire up for lockup in OD only. IT is a dirt simple 12 volt system for the solenoid l/up of the converter. 12 volts in , a ground and a pressure switch... dirt simple

I receive many emails about the 700 lock up system and have yet found an easy way for folks to understand without photos as shown at the link listed.

__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2008, 04:59 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 725
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I installed a simple toggle switch on my console in a 67 Camaro. I can lock and unlock the converter at the flip of a switch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2008, 01:49 PM
Warrant's Avatar
72 Nova, 65 Rambler, 37 Chevy
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Utah
Age: 24
Posts: 337
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
http://purplesagetradingpost.com/sum...o/700R4p1.html scroll to the bottem

http://www.73-87.com/7387garage/drivetrain/lockup.htm

Bowtie has good diagrams to as stated above, look around there, their is several
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2008, 06:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 34
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I think I have this link that gives a great answer in the mosty economical and simple way without oppening the tranny

http://www.clubhotrod.com/forums/tra...anny-swap.html,

at least works for me as my wires are the colour mentionned. Will try that on my car and see.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700r4 Lock up? cjoform Transmission - Rearend 3 12-21-2010 07:05 PM
How to hook up a 700r4 TV cable Linez35 Transmission - Rearend 7 10-21-2010 09:29 PM
700r4 hook-up Don Meyer Transmission - Rearend 2 10-18-2010 04:25 PM
700r4 How to hook up the reverse lights?? Wac Transmission - Rearend 5 01-08-2010 08:37 AM
th 700r4 lock-up jean-karim Transmission - Rearend 10 06-05-2008 05:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.