hooking up a auto meter gas gauge? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-02-2008, 11:01 PM
tiresmoke55's Avatar
PO-BOYS-TOYS!!
 

Last journal entry: My new 55 chevy pretty sharp
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: silvergrove ky
Age: 32
Posts: 252
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hooking up a auto meter gas gauge?

Quick question,, i have a new after market gas gauge and a 16 gallons fuel cell that has the sendind unit in it,,, what is the best way to wire it up?

any help would be great thanks

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-03-2008, 06:30 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: toms river NJ
Posts: 33
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
connect the wires together would be a start
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-03-2008, 09:08 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,913
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
The gauge and sending unit MUST match! Unless the unit came with the gauge or you have the specs for both you will need to check with the manufacturer of the gauge to see what it requires then check the sender. If you can not get the manufacturer specs on the unit you can check it with an ohm meter to see if it matches the gauge. Do this before hooking up anything and do not just hook up the wires and hope for the best. Do you have any info for the gauge?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-03-2008, 10:19 AM
tiresmoke55's Avatar
PO-BOYS-TOYS!!
 

Last journal entry: My new 55 chevy pretty sharp
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: silvergrove ky
Age: 32
Posts: 252
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldred
The gauge and sending unit MUST match! Unless the unit came with the gauge or you have the specs for both you will need to check with the manufacturer of the gauge to see what it requires then check the sender. If you can not get the manufacturer specs on the unit you can check it with an ohm meter to see if it matches the gauge. Do this before hooking up anything and do not just hook up the wires and hope for the best. Do you have any info for the gauge?


No i sure dont have any info for the gauge,, it came with the car, after i take a ohm meter, and if it checks out ok i was wondering on what wire went where, i have never messed with a after market fuel gauge before


thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-03-2008, 11:46 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,913
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
IF, and that's only if, the gauge is one of Auto Meter's generic models then it will be 33 to 240 ohms range so check the the sender and see what it reads. If you ground the meter to the sender body and probe the terminal that the gauge wire attaches to you can then move the float by hand and watch the meter to see what it reads. Call Auto Meter, they have a service number at their web site or you can E-mail them, and they will help you identify which gauge you have. If the sender does not match then you simply need to buy a sender to match the gauge, the sender will be cheaper than a new gauge but unless they match it will not work. If both are generic no matter what brand then chances are they are 33 to 240 ohms.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-03-2008, 05:05 PM
boatbob2
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: north florida
Age: 76
Posts: 1,375
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 6
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
fuel guage......

hi,NAPA sells a nice guage witha sending unit for about $45.00 total,i have a set of these in my truck and they are accurate.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2008, 01:27 AM
malc's Avatar
Living At The Speed Of Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Espaņa Right Coast
Posts: 3,295
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 108
Thanked 136 Times in 109 Posts
This is for an AutoMeter Fuel level gauge part 3514.
0 Ohms empty, 90 Ohms full for most GM vehicles from ´65 to present.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2008, 06:11 PM
tiresmoke55's Avatar
PO-BOYS-TOYS!!
 

Last journal entry: My new 55 chevy pretty sharp
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: silvergrove ky
Age: 32
Posts: 252
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by malc
This is for an AutoMeter Fuel level gauge part 3514.
0 Ohms empty, 90 Ohms full for most GM vehicles from ´65 to present.


Thanks very much for that info,, this will help alot!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2008, 06:12 PM
tiresmoke55's Avatar
PO-BOYS-TOYS!!
 

Last journal entry: My new 55 chevy pretty sharp
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: silvergrove ky
Age: 32
Posts: 252
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by boatbob2
hi,NAPA sells a nice guage witha sending unit for about $45.00 total,i have a set of these in my truck and they are accurate.


If i cant get mine to work ill check into that thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2008, 06:13 PM
tiresmoke55's Avatar
PO-BOYS-TOYS!!
 

Last journal entry: My new 55 chevy pretty sharp
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: silvergrove ky
Age: 32
Posts: 252
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldred
IF, and that's only if, the gauge is one of Auto Meter's generic models then it will be 33 to 240 ohms range so check the the sender and see what it reads. If you ground the meter to the sender body and probe the terminal that the gauge wire attaches to you can then move the float by hand and watch the meter to see what it reads. Call Auto Meter, they have a service number at their web site or you can E-mail them, and they will help you identify which gauge you have. If the sender does not match then you simply need to buy a sender to match the gauge, the sender will be cheaper than a new gauge but unless they match it will not work. If both are generic no matter what brand then chances are they are 33 to 240 ohms.

Ill check that just as soon as i get home thanks for that great info
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto meter Wiring 78Z Electrical 7 09-02-2009 08:02 AM
using 20 gauge without gas Slickriffs Body - Exterior 9 10-19-2007 09:11 AM
Need help with fuel gauge Crazy-J Electrical 3 03-01-2005 12:46 PM
VDO Temp guage quit codybird Electrical 2 05-03-2004 04:22 AM
Gas Gauge street rodder 1937 Electrical 3 08-26-2003 11:43 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.