Hooking up a tach without a key? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2010, 06:47 PM
fordsucks7's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: spokane
Age: 20
Posts: 30
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hooking up a tach without a key?

okay i was curiuos on how to hook up a tach with out a key "i do not have one" but i need to have a tach so i can try and tune the new holley and see if theres a vacuum leak... know i no that theres a way to make it work i just dont no how, any help would be appreciated.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2010, 07:34 PM
adantessr's Avatar
'23 T-Bucket Pickup
 
Last wiki edit: Troubleshooting ignition Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Charleston , WV
Age: 62
Posts: 1,549
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 43
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Assuming that you have a three wire tach . Really not enough information here but I'll guess : Red wire ignition , black wire ground and whatever the other is ( white , blue , yelow ) goes to the distributor side of the coil . Not really sure if that is what you were asking but I gave it a shot .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2010, 07:37 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 9,388
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 29
Thanked 469 Times in 426 Posts
You must have some kind of "ignition on" 12v+ switch somewhere to supply power to the distributor and coil, right?? Hook the 12v+ wire to the tach to this same switch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2010, 07:46 PM
fordsucks7's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: spokane
Age: 20
Posts: 30
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks for the quick replies , it is a 1966 318 and it is a 5 wire tach but i was just need to hook it up in the engine compartment too tune my new holley and to see if i have a vacuum leak. I have to hook it up from the engine compartment cause i dont have the key for it. i just got it about 2 weeks ago from a tow yard
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2010, 07:59 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 9,388
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 29
Thanked 469 Times in 426 Posts
Hooking the main 12v+ tach wire and the "ignition on" 12v+ tach wire to the same switch, or straight to the battery 12v+ post will allow it to work. Just remember to unhook it when not in use, don't leave it hooked straight to the battery for an extended period of time.

When you say 5-wire tach, what are the five wires meant to be hooked to?? I only know of 4 and 3-wire designs, unless it has a multiple shift point feature like some of the Autometers do.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2010, 08:06 PM
fordsucks7's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: spokane
Age: 20
Posts: 30
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thank you for the info but well this work with out being able to actrually turn the key on im just putting a screwdriver on it to start it
blue is illumination ground, connect to common ground
red +12 volt power, connect to fuse
green ignition
black tach ground
white 12+ volt illumination connect to light switch
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2010, 08:12 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 9,388
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 29
Thanked 469 Times in 426 Posts
Having the actual key means nothing if you are turning the switch with a screwdriver, the tach don't care.

To make it read rpm all you need to actually hook up are the red 12v+ connected to battery, black to ground, and green to coil -. The blue and the white just run the light bulb in the tach for night illumination.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2010, 08:15 PM
fordsucks7's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: spokane
Age: 20
Posts: 30
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
so your saying i dont have to have any thing in the ignition?
im starting by putting the screwdriver on the voltage regulator?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2010, 08:30 PM
adantessr's Avatar
'23 T-Bucket Pickup
 
Last wiki edit: Troubleshooting ignition Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Charleston , WV
Age: 62
Posts: 1,549
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 43
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fordsucks7
so your saying i dont have to have any thing in the ignition?
im starting by putting the screwdriver on the voltage regulator?

To make it read rpm all you need to actually hook up are the red 12v+ connected to battery, black to ground, and green to coil -. The blue and the white just run the light bulb in the tach for night illumination.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2010, 08:35 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 9,388
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 29
Thanked 469 Times in 426 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fordsucks7
so your saying i dont have to have any thing in the ignition?
im starting by putting the screwdriver on the voltage regulator?
To make the tach work, no you don't need anything in the ignition, just hook the wires up as I said.

To make the engine run, I don't know if jumping the voltage regulator will provide power to the distributor/coil/ignition box of what you are working on. I'm not familiar with old Chrysler products, last one I had was a '73 Duster, my first car(I didn't pick it out) and I was glad to be rid of it for a '70 Chevelle.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2010, 08:38 PM
fordsucks7's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: spokane
Age: 20
Posts: 30
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thank you for the replies all give it a try but im not very happy with what you just said, Did you no that is a sin to judge the all mighty mopar that started nearly every thing!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2010, 08:49 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 9,388
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 29
Thanked 469 Times in 426 Posts
My "almighty mopar" had the "leaning tower of power" under the hood, and an unsyncronized 1st gear "3 on the tree" and was slower than molasses in January. Would have required an entire driveline swap to be anything decent, had the tiny bolt pattern wheels too. Not exactly something I was impressed with, the electrical system was nothing but problems.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2010, 02:36 AM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fordsucks7
thank you for the replies all give it a try but im not very happy with what you just said, Did you no that is a sin to judge the all mighty mopar that started nearly every thing!
Is it more of a sin that what you do to the English language?

MOPAR's are fine, generally speaking. However, I do not genuflect every time I see one. And they're not immune from problems, by any means.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2010, 02:44 AM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
If you want the engine to start, run a jumper from the "+" side of the coil top the battery positive terminal. Then jump the starter to turn the engine over.

Don't run it long w/o having a ballast resistor in the line or the coil may overheat.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2010, 03:56 AM
fordsucks7's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: spokane
Age: 20
Posts: 30
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
okay i realize this is a interesting chevy lover's site but i am of course a die hard mopar fan and will always be one but you chevy people are the ignorant ones not us. mostly because you dont realize that mopar was the first to nearly d everything you no Henry ford oh what was that the dodge brothers helped him. And also what about blowers for cars who started using them and also real mans car that actually goes fast like maybe a drag car i ah dont see them using the "famous sbc" no they use hemi's. and to make chevy even worse is the fact that they stole the most popular engine the piece of 350 from mopar yah why dont you look that up hmmm..... and it almost seems that the mopar one was alot better with dual quads and all, but no way that mopar could of done that no its general motors aka general electric a motor is an electric motor shocked i no...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Am I hooking up this tach correctly STATUTORY GRAPE Electrical 6 05-18-2008 08:46 AM
Hooking up tach kruzr Electrical 1 08-29-2007 06:10 PM
hooking up a tach?! mrobby440 Electrical 4 09-18-2006 11:34 AM
Hooking up tach on a 6v system Nightfire Electrical 6 08-26-2005 01:00 AM
mustang tach wiring stang_steve Electrical 0 07-14-2004 07:28 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.