Hot Rod Forum banner

horsepower guesses?

71K views 212 replies 14 participants last post by  abigassbowtie 
#1 ·
I am new to this site I am building a sbc 409 (.040 over 400) Im kinda new to the engine building I would love to put it on a dyno but just cant justify spending 400 on somebody else tuning my motor and knowing how much horsepower it makes anyway this is what I got and please bare with me I dont know all my part numbers

holley street avenger (670?)
ported edelbrock performer rpm heads stock valves 64cc chambers
holley strip dominator intake
speed pro forged pistons -4cc dish = 11-1 cr
solid roller comp xr 292
in a 509 400 block
stock polished and shot peened rods (5.7)
stock crank

anyway what do you think for hp and torque I know some of you guys are real good at this and I know everyone thinks that theyr motor makes way more than it does so dont hold back

#177 ·
well i got the heads off of it and found a broken piston and the head is a littl screwed up but easily fixable

now i want an opinion on what to do! the guy still wants to trade but he wants the money to have them surfaced wich is fair so it will be 500$ to him and 100 in fuel to trade him i could do that right now but I wouldnt have the money to fix the bottom end I figure its gonna be about 300$ to fix the bottom with all new rings a ball hone to rehone that cylinder a new piston and gaskets and machining the new piston

it did not screw up the cylinder bad at all luckily enough my fingernail can barely feel it

so i could fix and put my heads back on and save for a few weeks to get the heads ( the guy said he can wait while i fix it ) or do i go get the heads and save for the bottom end ?

#179 ·
There is always the risk that he may have somone wave cash in his face and the heads will go bye-bye out from under you. I would get them if this is a deal you want to make and then worry about fixing the engine.