Hot Rod Forum banner

horsepower guesses?

71K views 212 replies 14 participants last post by  abigassbowtie 
#1 ·
I am new to this site I am building a sbc 409 (.040 over 400) Im kinda new to the engine building I would love to put it on a dyno but just cant justify spending 400 on somebody else tuning my motor and knowing how much horsepower it makes anyway this is what I got and please bare with me I dont know all my part numbers

holley street avenger (670?)
ported edelbrock performer rpm heads stock valves 64cc chambers
holley strip dominator intake
speed pro forged pistons -4cc dish = 11-1 cr
solid roller comp xr 292
in a 509 400 block
stock polished and shot peened rods (5.7)
stock crank

anyway what do you think for hp and torque I know some of you guys are real good at this and I know everyone thinks that theyr motor makes way more than it does so dont hold back

#3 ·
abigassbowtie said:
what am i missing here to not get any answers sorry if it is something stupid I missed just really would like to know
Can't help with Hp but give the guys some time. You posted at midnight and 12 hrs later want answers. Hey the west coast guys are probably just on their second cup of coffee and the east guys are on lunch. Have patience and I am sure someone will chime in with some figures.

#5 ·
should be a lot. So kind of hard to guess.

carb and heads are little small.

I calculate 11.3:1 cr for your setup, which is a little high. I think you will need to run 93 octane and retard timing a little. 10.75 or even 11:1 would be better.

but I would say 500/530 ftlbs if the engine is assembled and tuned correctly. Heads are most likely holding you back, but will make extra low rpm torque for the street.

#6 ·