how big of a cam can i go with stock converter - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-07-2011, 09:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
how big of a cam can i go with stock converter

Hi I have a roller. 350 I wanna kno how big of a.cam I can go with a stock converter its a 95 4dr s10 blazer its got 295 50 15 rear tires with 373 gears its got a 700r4 out of a 87 full size blazer I got headers edelbrock performer intake holley 3310 carb I wanna go a choppy as possable

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-08-2011, 12:04 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mercedes,Tx
Age: 38
Posts: 101
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The thumper
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-08-2011, 09:07 AM
Blazin72's Avatar
You got a leaky spark tube...
 
Last wiki edit: Rearend removal
Last journal entry: General Lee
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Union, WA
Age: 32
Posts: 2,868
Wiki Edits: 19

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70chevelless
The thumper
Really? How did you arrive at that determination?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-08-2011, 12:34 PM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,931
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 15
Thanked 214 Times in 193 Posts
You can put any camshaft in that you want to - but you will kill any performance gains with the 15-1800 RPM converter, plus 3.73 gears with 27-28 inch tall tires
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-08-2011, 01:06 PM
cool rockin daddy's Avatar
1.21 giga-watts???!!!!
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: wherever cool cars are
Posts: 1,535
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70chevelless
The thumper
Stupidest reply ever. OP, you have to have a cam that the powerband matches the converter. The two go hand in hand and the relationship cannot be ignored. Call any cam company or converter company and LISTEN to what they say.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-08-2011, 04:13 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 30
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I know it depends on the engine, cam, and converter but I have the stock converter in my F100, with a modified 302 (unknown cam; 14" vacuum). It pulls the idle down from about 800 to right under 500 rpm on the tach. Performance is pretty crappy off the line.

Do yourself a favor and replace the converter even if you are getting a cam that *should* work with the stock converter.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2011, 01:19 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mercedes,Tx
Age: 38
Posts: 101
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cool rockin daddy
Stupidest reply ever. OP, you have to have a cam that the powerband matches the converter. The two go hand in hand and the relationship cannot be ignored. Call any cam company or converter company and LISTEN to what they say.
Ok I will be stupid he wants a cam that sounds and there is more then one thumper. The stock converter he has should give 20 to 22. Don't hate and what did you recomend.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2011, 03:45 AM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jshaffer123321
Hi I have a roller. 350 I wanna kno how big of a.cam I can go with a stock converter its a 95 4dr s10 blazer its got 295 50 15 rear tires with 373 gears its got a 700r4 out of a 87 full size blazer I got headers edelbrock performer intake holley 3310 carb I wanna go a choppy as possable
You need to realize that the "choppiness" you desire comes from the engine's inefficiency at low RPM, and it's an undesirable trait of a performance cam once the overlap/duration exceeds a certain point.

Unless this is a w/e toy or race only, instead of trying to build the engine into a radical sounding, but turd-like performing poser, build it to be efficient while still making good power in the RPM range you find yourself using the vehicle in the most. This will mean a cam w/more lift but w/o excessive duration and overlap. This will compliment the parts you already have and will make driving it a pleasure as opposed to a chore.

If you still insist on "choppy", lose the stock torque converter! Plan on some deep rear gears, more like 4.11-4.56, else OD will be non usable. Depending on what diff you have, this may need swapping out for a stronger unit and needs to be a limited slip as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2011, 03:59 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mercedes,Tx
Age: 38
Posts: 101
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I won't say anything I'm out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2011, 07:08 AM
DoubleVision's Avatar
Not Considered a Senior Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heart Of Dixie
Age: 40
Posts: 10,658
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 60 Times in 57 Posts
We used a Comp Cams Magnum hydraulic roller that`s the smallest of the line. It`s got .215 duration @.050 and .500 lift, it hits a nice lick at idle and still has good low end street manners and works with stock converters.
Unless you step up the rest of the engine this is about as choppy as you can go. When the cam goes up, the compression, head flow, exhaust flow all has to go up with it. If you stick a big cam in a stock runner your not going to like the results as it`ll be a turd. As far as the "thumper" reply that was mentioned you can ignore it. Thumpers are fad cams designed for those who don`t know how to make a standard high performance cam lope at idle.
If it`s tuned correctly, a high performance cam lopes just fine at idle.
When it comes to the thumper line they are what I call "bark and no bite"
Many have already found out they are very poor performance cams but they sound mean.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did I buy a stall converter or a stock one in a TCI box? heathj1 Transmission - Rearend 5 07-04-2009 05:50 AM
B&M Torkmaster 2400 rpm stall converter vs. stock torque converter??? zbhover Transmission - Rearend 2 11-02-2008 07:52 PM
Cam too big for stock converter? or ? FASTCHEVY Engine 10 03-09-2006 05:55 PM
Stock Converter SBC-S-15 Transmission - Rearend 1 06-06-2004 05:52 PM
what's the largest cam i can run with a stock converter? COCHEV Engine 24 11-29-2002 04:54 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.