How to choose the paint TYPE - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2009, 08:26 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

How to choose the paint TYPE

Ok I am no pro by any means when it somes to painting....In fact I have only painted a few cars in my life. I use acrylic enamel over epoxy primers becaus ethats what I was taught to do. But in all reality I have no clue as to which paint ot use for whatever reason!! There are acrylics, polyurethanes, lacquers, whats the difference? What type of paint do you prefer and why?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-06-2009, 11:01 PM

Last photo:

Use 2K primer (generic if on budget) because it builds thick film fast and sands nice.

I prefer 2 stage base coat/clear coat system because of durability, shineability and repairability. I use Dupont chroma base/clear system only when I must match color exactly (I would use all the time if not so expensive). I quit using PPG because prices at my local shops are outrageous. Many seem to have good luck with cheaper Dupont Nason and other generic paint systems.

PPG 2020 paint system lasted over 10 years on my Dads ungaraged car (car failed before the paint); PPG 2020 which was a urethane base/clear system was discontinued.

Lacquer paint (almost extinct) will fail after about 5 year on ungaraged car.

Enamel lasts many years on garaged cars. Enamel is somewhat repairable. Enamel does not typically have wet look of the clear coat system but I kinda still like enamel. My enamel is starting to fail on my garaged car with 20 year paint job.

Emron is a good single stage paint. Emron is not as shiny as urethane BC/CC paints.