How do I pick out an engine for my '54 packard clipper? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2002, 01:36 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Question How do I pick out an engine for my '54 packard clipper?

I just bought my first car. A '54 Packard clipper. It is 100% original, straight 8, weighs in at a burly 3850 lbs. I know nothing about engines, where do I start in trying to figure out what kind/size engine i would need to get? There are lot of numbers with associated with engines (ci, hp, tourque, etc) how do they manifest themselves in the actual car? What type of number should I look for if I want to give the packard some get up and GO! I am a student and have a small budget, what options are there for me? Any and all sugestions/advice would be appreciated.
thanks

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-04-2002, 01:43 PM

Last photo:

What kind of suspension and braking do you have? Going quicker means havings to stop qucker! Putting in a larger drive train i.e. engine, transmission, also means its heaver then orginal and may need a little beefer suspension. On the engine size matters. I have been looking at some 472/500 big block Caddie engines they weight about as much at a small block and have more torque then you can shake a fat stick at! Just a suggestion you can learn more about them here. <a href="http://www.500cid.com" target="_blank">www.500cid.com</a> Keep us updateed on whatcha do. And post some pics of her not to sure what a '57 Packerd Clipper looks like.
Old 10-04-2002, 01:53 PM