How Do I Stitch Up A Roll Bar Cover?? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Interior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2008, 07:20 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

How Do I Stitch Up A Roll Bar Cover??

HI GUYS- I'M NEW HERE BUT I HAVE BEEN READING YOUR TECH ARTICLES FOR ABOUT A YEAR AND I MUST SAY THAT THE INFO HERE HAS BEEN TREMENDOUSLY HELPFUL- I'M DOING A RESTOMOD 69 DODGE CORONET 500 CONVERTIBLE AND I INSTALLED A TARGA STYLE ROLL BAR ( I DIDN'T WANT TO BUTCHER THE CAR) AND I WANTED TO INSTALL A NICE LEATHER LOOKING STYLE COVER OVER THE PADDING OF THE BAR. I WAS PLANNING ON BUYING THE MATERIAL FROM WALMART, AS IT HAS THE LOOK AND FEEL THAT I WANT, AND IT'S SEMI STRETCHY, SO IT HAS SOME GIVE TO WORK WITH.....I'M NOT A NOVICE AT THIS GAME AND I DO HAVE SOME GREAT TECH MYSELF, BUT ANY SUGGESTIONS ON HOW TO MAKE THE 90* TURNS IN VINYL AT THE TOP OF THE BAR? SHOULD I CUT "L" PATTERNS FROM CARDBOARD FOR THE TRANSITION FROM HORIZ. TO VERT,? WHAT ABOUT VELCRO FOR ATTACHMENT? SNAPS? ZIPPER? I DON'T WANT ANY BUNCHING IN THE INSIDE OF THE TURN AND I HAVE BEEN CHECKING OUT DANTWOLAKES' ARTICLES AND I HAVE USED SOME OF THOSE TIPS AND HAVE WORKED WELL- ANY HELP HERE WOULD BE GREAT- THANKS GUYS!!!

HERE'S A PIC OF WHAT IT LOOKS LIKE......

Advertisement

Last edited by SUPERBIRD540; 12-05-2008 at 04:41 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-05-2008, 09:11 AM

Last journal entry: 50 Ply wagon
Last photo:

My wife is a seamstress and has done my rollcage in my car. She setup her machine right in my shop and proceeded to cut, fit, and sew right there. She sewed vel-cro to both sides, loop and hook. Then it was easy to take off and adjust if necessary. Mine was done in suede tho, not leather.