how do i use the 6 volt gauges on a 12 volt system - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2003, 07:04 PM
cardsrusa's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: canada
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
how do i use the 6 volt gauges on a 12 volt system

Hey Guy and gals. Does enyone know how I can use my original gauges in my 1948 Chevy Fleetmaster Sports Coupe. That has a 6 volt wiring system when I change it to a 12 volt system. Should I use a voltage regulator under the dash to reduse the volts from 12 to 6 when it enters the gauges. Or will then gauges work on a 12 volt system.

thanks for the help John

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2003, 11:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 75
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
That is about what I did on my 48 Ford. I used a ballast resistor to burn up the extra 6 volts. They are available at NAPA, I think mine was for a chrysler.BTW change all your light bulbs BEFORE you start it back up, Don't ask me how I know this. Oh, also, Those resistors get HOT they also smoke when new , don't be alarmed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2003, 08:59 AM
cardsrusa's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: canada
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks

hey walker thanks that should be great. I'm triing to keep the original look to the dash. So that should help alot.

thanks again john
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2003, 01:06 PM
Jag Daddy's Avatar
British Style with USA Muscle
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Valencia, California
Age: 57
Posts: 1,078
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You might want to look into an electronic regulator. they are not to tough to wire for gauges and small stuff BUT anything with high current loads will need more brute force i.e. BIG resistors.

I'll look in my curcuits and see what I have for a 12 to 6 volt regulator. One thing if you use and electronic regulator your voltage will be very stable, the resistor curcuit will fluxuate with the input voltage. There is also a thing called a Voltage divider circuit that is a little more complicated to wire for each gauge but it will work too. If your interested I'll calculate one up

Regards
Mark
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2003, 10:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: michiana
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
6 volt guages

I dis-assembled my guages and rebuilt them with mopar units. Bolted in with very minor tweaks needed. 9er
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2003, 11:25 PM
Dawger's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Springville CA
Posts: 31
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hey john
When I changed my 52 fleetline to 12 volts The only gage that required avoltage drop was the fuel gage. The oil press is mecanical so is the temp. the amp gage will work fine on 12 v. I believe your 48 is the same. I made my own 6-V voltage regulator with radio shack parts. I could send you schematic If you would like. Easier would be finding a gas gage voltage regulator from the junk yard or parts store. Most modern cars use 5-6V for the fuel gage. My system is still working fine after 2 years. I still havent changed the dash lite bulbs. I just keep the dimmer turned down low.
Best of luck on your swap Dawger
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-27-2003, 02:12 PM
Kevin45's Avatar
Just one of the guys
 

Last journal entry: Garage Toys
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Urbana, Ohio
Age: 57
Posts: 3,058
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
whatever you do don't mount a ballast resistor under the dash. they get very hot so any plastic, cloth. etc, that comes in contact with it stands a chance on catching fire. for safety purposes mount it out on the firewall somewhere.

kevin
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.