How do I wire up a Kenwood sub woofer? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2006, 11:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Beverly Hills
Posts: 442
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How do I wire up a Kenwood sub woofer?

I recently bought a Kenwood sub-woofer that I want to install in my 95 Contour (beater car). It is a package unit with a built-in amp. It is a 10" diameter cylinder style unit. Installation instructions did not come with it. I'd like to connect it to my factory radio for fun. Does anyone know what wires I need and what connects to what? Thanks for your help!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2006, 03:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: cda, id
Age: 30
Posts: 282
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Does your sub have inputs for an rca connection? If not you will need to go to your favorite store(walmart, shucks, ect.) and pick up an amp install kit. On the electrical hookups on the sub there should be 3 of them. You are going to need one run from the positive side of you battery to your trunk(or where ever you are to put it), one will be a ground to the body where you decide to put it, and one will be a 12v source only positive when key is on(I usually go into the fuse box) Last but not least you will need to hook up some speaker wires from one of the speakers. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2006, 06:57 PM
WakBordr7387's Avatar
Gone fishin'
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners
Last journal entry: blah.......again
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas Coast
Age: 29
Posts: 667
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Just another thing to add to the last post.
Does the amplifier have RCA inputs or speaker inputs on it?
The RCA inputs will look similar to what a television would have. if it does, then you will need a line output converter (bout $20) and it will wire into the stock speaker wires and change it over to the RCA jacks to hook it all up. This can be done behind the stereo deck or back by some speakers, the choice is yours.
But the amp could also have the speaker inputs instead of the RCA jacks. Where you just run wire from the stock speakers for it. Basically wired like what I just said about the line output converter.


Brad
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2006, 11:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Beverly Hills
Posts: 442
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My radio is a factory original. I suspect it does not have the rca outputs. The sub has rca inputs.
What size wire for the power feed? For the ground? For the 12V source?

I bought a monster cable that I guess will be used for the speaker connections. The sales rep mentioned something about isolating the speaker wires from the power feeds. OK, but how much space is enough? I really don't want to tear out my whole interior for a couple if wires.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2006, 05:43 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

Your Radio SHOULD have RCA outputs , being as it is a 95 Contour, look at the back of the radio, they will most likely be the unused harness bundle.

As for Isolation..Provide as much distance from ANY power wires AND Computer wires (Clock Frequency will induce a "Whine or Buzz" from a computer)as you can..(advise running them through the right wire tunnel under the right side door / Carpet hold downs, Down the right side the car, power down the left.)

Use Shielded cable and Ground Terminate Them at ONLY one end (The audio source end) and Daisy Chain the other end shields..If you ground BOTH ends, it may ground loop on you. (Audio noise traveling up one shield and down another looking for ground).

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-31-2006, 11:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Beverly Hills
Posts: 442
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
OK Thanks DOC! I think I'm pickin up what you're layin' down. As soon as this heat drops off, I'll give it a go and see what happens.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Basic of Basics" Welding - How do I repair body panels? Centerline Body - Exterior 33 03-31-2014 09:45 AM
What's the proper way to wire an alternator? 70bird Electrical 18 08-14-2010 12:24 PM
1986 Cutlass wiring Q's again :( ChrisMiddleron Electrical 12 07-16-2005 04:22 PM
One wire or three wire? Screwy Lewy Electrical 0 06-30-2003 04:33 PM
57 Chevy generator to altenator swap Rodrunner Electrical 2 07-17-2002 09:59 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.