Hot Rod Forum banner

How to fix crease in hood?

9K views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  tcruise 
#1 ·
The hood on my '76 Chevy truck has a slighty crease at the end of the hood hinge, causing it to stick up about a quarter of an inch above the fender.
There is a break in the metal on the side edge of the hood, and the metal on the inside that the hinge attaches to is bent inward.

The hood on this vehicle is very heavy, yet amazingly NOT rigid. There is damn little room between the outer and inner sheet metal.

I think I can figure out how to weld the break once it is straight. I am a bodyworking novice. I have a propane torch and a basic set of body hammers and the usual shop tools.

I'd appreciate your suggestions on how to straighten it and add reinforcement to prevent it bending again. Would prefer to use scrap or off-the-shelf material, since I don't have any metal fabrication tools.

Thanks!

#2 ·
GM knows this is a very weak spot which is why they sold a reinforcement back in the seventies for it. They also changed the hinge design and made it come out longer to support the hood better.

Check out the dealer to see if they still have the reinforcement for sale.

As far as repairing the hood, those are a beeetch. You will need to really weld it, no propane torch for this one.

Do you have access to a MIG?

Brian

#3 ·
Thanks for the info. I'll check into the reinforcement part.
No MIG welder, only ARC and Oxy-Acetelene. I considered getting a cheapy at Harbor Freight, but thought better of it. Hoping I can get away with using an ARC welder to fix the crack on the side...

#4 ·