how to fix my screw up - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-09-2006, 08:24 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

how to fix my screw up

well im new to sheetmetal welding. i got my patch panel in no problem but got a few blow throughs from just being carless. how should I fix this? piece of cooper/brass behind it and weld it shut? Its not perfect but its close enough that bondo will be able to fix it just fine. im using c25 gas with .023 wire. Here are some pictures of the fubar.

here is what i started out with.

panel welded in.

the blow throughs.

patch panel cut out

any help would be apperciated.

thanks

Ty

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-09-2006, 08:40 PM

Last photo:

Ty, It looks to me like you just need some more practice welding. Spot the holes untill they are gone. Bob
Old 04-09-2006, 09:04 PM

Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by baddbob
Ty, It looks to me like you just need some more practice welding. Spot the holes untill they are gone. Bob
Yeah i cant weld sheet metal worth **** but am trying.

should i put a piece of copper behind what im welding to be able to puddle the weld and displace some heat? trying to get this done so i can prime something tat i actually sort of know how to do.

thanks for the help.
Old 04-09-2006, 09:22 PM

Last photo:

I think you would have been better off putting the whole panel on. Don't you just love Champion socks? I do. I'm wearing Nike socks now, they are much thinner and they don't last nearly as long as the Champions do.
Old 04-09-2006, 09:24 PM

Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoddy_f-body