How to get started and make connections - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-12-2004, 03:53 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

How to get started and make connections

Okay, I see all the time guys "found this part for $100" or "just pick up a used one for $50" or "have the machine shop do it for $30"...... so my question is, how do I find these people?

I'm not a mechanic, neither is my dad or relatives. I don't do work that involves mechanics, welders, machinists, etc.... how do you go about finding people that can do work and find parts, etc etc etc..... a lot of the time I can do many various mechanical things, but never having any formal training and not having someone that can come over and help out puts a limit on what I can get done by myself.

So, those of you that aren't doing some aspect of this as a job, how did you meet people and learn about cars? Races, meets, cruise night, online?

Also, does anyone have a good link for regional events? I am looking for OH, WV, PA....

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-12-2004, 05:05 PM

Last photo:

Getting started

If there is a specific part you are looking for, call the wrecking yard or stop by. If they don't have it, they may direct you to someone that does. "Grease the wheels" a bit by telling the counter person that all your friend said his place was place to go, or that their place was the first one you went to.

Don't pretend to know more than you do. That was a big step for me. Admit it up front, to others, and especially to yourself, and you'll be better off in the long run. Good reputations travel slow, but bad ones travel faster than the speed of light!