how to lock a toolchest - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2009, 01:30 AM
72 grabber 51F-1 65 chevystang
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dora Alabama
Age: 23
Posts: 314
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
how to lock a toolchest

I am starting diesel mechanics in a few weeks. I am running a little short on money so I am going to take in my box. I will have about $1200 in toos in it and am wondering if anyone knows how to make a locking device for them. It is one of the craftsmen ones.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2009, 04:51 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,810
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 81 Times in 68 Posts
I have seen mechanics who have installed part of a hasp & hinge on their tool boxes. They use just the part that the lock would go though. They use two of them, one on top front and one on bottom front. They they pass a steel bar through both of the hasp's. The steel bar has a hole drilled through each end and they pass a lock through each hole. This blocks all drawers. Hope I explained it well enough.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2009, 09:37 AM
NEW INTERIORS's Avatar
Believe in yourself !!!!!!
 

Last journal entry: 41 WILLYS FRAME
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In My Shop..
Age: 48
Posts: 9,811
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 987
Thanked 429 Times in 326 Posts
Tie a pit-bull to it !!!! LOL.. Just joking..You don't want to do that.... Vince has a great idea there..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pitbull.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	56.0 KB
ID:	39818  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-07-2009, 02:58 AM
4 Jaw Chuck's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 4,810
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 58 Times in 46 Posts
FYI you can break into any toolbox with an exposed hinge by tapping the hinge wire and then pulling it out with a pair of pliers...so unless your willing to do the front and back with lock hasps...

You get the picture.

My opinion is if they want in they will get in, every shop has a 6 inch angle grinder laying around that can make short work of any lock. I would just use the supplied toolbox lock, its not great but it will prevent the casual light finger perp.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-07-2009, 01:56 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,810
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 81 Times in 68 Posts
I had the same thoughts and almost posted such, but I have seen boxes locked as I described so I posted it. Me personally I think as you....a complete waste of time.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-07-2009, 06:56 PM
boatbob2
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: north florida
Age: 76
Posts: 1,367
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
locking tool box....

Hi,i had a 2 piece craftsman tool box, i had my wife sew up a padded vinyl cover,, (like a big sock)i pulled it down over the whole box,then i took a chain over the top of the box (front and rear,then with the same chain,X ed it side to side,make the chain tight,then get a BIG master lock thru the chains.it would be better,if you had something to chain it to (car bumper works well...good luck.....(((or take it home every nite)Randys blurb about the pit bull,is right on.......
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why only one door lock on a Ford F-100? Z-Money Pit Hotrodding Basics 38 12-30-2011 05:44 PM
700r4 lock up confusion jrs22166 Transmission - Rearend 4 07-28-2009 08:35 AM
700 lock up convertor tinman386 Transmission - Rearend 5 04-25-2009 04:21 PM
Anyone ever had a line lock fail and degrade braking? sizemoremk Suspension - Brakes - Steering 7 09-22-2006 02:13 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.