how many amps? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2006, 06:26 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: mich
Posts: 57
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
how many amps?

hey all. how many amps (roughly) does a after market air conditioner use? i have a 63 buick special with a 215 2v. someone suggested a 94 amp. i was told this was over-kill for my application. the car came with a 55 amp alt. i picked up a parts car with after market air which also has a 55 amp alt. i drove this car 150 mi home while running EVERYTHING (including air) and it seemed to do fine. would the 55 amp do the job (it will only have power steering and air as well as a 100 watt amp)? would it take a 63 amp do the job? thanks for any suggestions!
keith (who doesn't know much about amps/electricity and such )

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2006, 06:44 AM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 17,036
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 24
Thanked 332 Times in 258 Posts
55 to 63, thats only 8 amps. In electrical, as with anything, overkill is probably better. Don't know whether you need it or not, but it can't hurt.
__________________
Ontario Rodders
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2006, 07:00 AM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

Just because the alternator is rated at 100 amps, is not what the output will be 24/7 365...

It is dependent on the regulator demands from the system load..

If it needs 35 amps it will produce that and shut off when the demand is met. If it needs 90 amps the same logic applies.

No such thing as overkill..HOWEVER there is such a thing as "Jump start"...

To find your actual draw you need to do a load test under the worst case scenerio..Everything running electrical..including brake lamps,backups, interions..turns or 4 ways..stereo Full volume...everything full on..Take that figure and go 25 or 30 amps above (for headroom) and you'll be just fine..

Whatever the upgrade BE sure the wire gauge and fuse link are proper for the new draws..

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2006, 09:24 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: mich
Posts: 57
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
how many amps

Quote:
Originally Posted by poncho62
55 to 63, thats only 8 amps. In electrical, as with anything, overkill is probably better. Don't know whether you need it or not, but it can't hurt.
yes, i love overkill myself but i am trying to not OVERKILL my wallet ! i would like to go with what i need and not "more" than i need. what i am really interested in is how many amps (roughly) would a aftermarket air draw. i have ALL manuals for my car and they don't give a clue for my question. btw a 63 amp is 50.00 less than a 94 amp. if i NEED a 94 fine, but if a 63 would work why waste the
extra 50 bucks. my son ordered a new fluke meter that should be in friday (at which time i will do a load test) but till then i am just curious how many amps (roughly) the air would draw. since the guy that will supply the delcotron will take two plus weeks i wanted to get a headstart and order it today instead of waiting till friday to do a load test. i wanted to make sure i am not buying more than i need. since the parts car with after market air i drove home (140 mi) worked fine with a 55 amp (with everything running), i was thinking that a step-up to a 63 might be fine. just trying to be frugal (cheap?) before i make a purchase. oh well, if need i will just wait till friday and do a load test. thanks.
keith (who is just doing his homework)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2006, 09:26 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: mich
Posts: 57
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
how many amps

Quote:
Originally Posted by docvette
Doc here,

Just
Whatever the upgrade BE sure the wire gauge and fuse link are proper for the new draws..

Doc
thanks Doc. i will make note of this
keith
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alternator only putting out 12 amps Kamino64 Electrical 14 04-14-2006 05:07 PM
TIG welding will's53chevy General Rodding Tech 29 12-21-2005 02:38 PM
Amps draw on 3.8 Taurus electric fan? macx Electrical 14 11-18-2005 10:07 PM
Headlight amps and fuse size? JohnTN Electrical 6 07-13-2005 08:43 PM
computer amps NorthStar Electrical 1 03-02-2005 10:05 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.